You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Berlin Awards: Jafar Panahi’s ‘Taxi,’ Pablo Larrain’s ‘El Club’ & Andrew Haigh’s ’45 Years’ Are Big Winners

Berlin Awards: Jafar Panahi's 'Taxi,' Pablo Larrain's 'El Club' & Andrew Haigh's '45 Years' Are Big Winners

And so wraps up another year at the Berlin International Film Festival, and while it never quite reaches the fever pitch of Sundance, nor has the same level of sniffy prestige of Cannes, there are gems to be found within the lineup. In 2015, two of the most acclaimed films to unspool also took the top prizes.

Jafar Panahi‘s “Taxi” (our review) and Pablo Larrain‘s “El Club” (our review) took the Golden Bear and Silver Bear, respectively. Both earned big accolades at the fest, and their wins are hardly surprising. Same goes for the acting sweep by Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay‘s in Andrew Haigh‘s buzzed about “45 Years” (our review).

Check out full list of winners below and browse through all our coverage of the 2015 Berlin International Film Festival by clicking here.

Golden Bear for Best Film
Taxi, Jafar Panahi

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize
Pablo Larrain, El Club

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize for a feature film that opens new perspectives
Ixcanul, dir: Jayro Bustamante

Silver Bear for Best Director (tie)
Radu Jude, Aferim!
Małgorzata Szumowska, Body

Silver Bear for Best Actress
Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years

Silver Bear for Best Actor
Tom Courtenay, 45 Years

Silver Bear for Best Script
Patricio Guzman, The Pearl Button

Silver Bear for an Outstanding Artistic Contribution in the categories camera, editing, music score, costumes or set design (Tie)
Sturla Brandth Grovlen, Cinematographer: Victoria
Sergey Mikhalchuk and Evgeniy Privin, Cinematographers:Under Electric Clouds

Best First Feature Award for the Best Debut Film
600 Miles, dir: Gabriel Ripstein

Audi Short Film Award
Planet Sigma, dir: Momoko Seto

Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film)
Bad At dancing, dir: Joanna arnow

Golden Bear for Best Short Film
Hosanna, dir: Na Young-kil

Panorama Audience Award – Fiction Film 2015
Que Horas Ela Volta? (The Second Mother), dir: Anna Muylaert, Brazil
2nd Place: Stories Of Our Lives, dir: Jum Chuchu, Kenya
3rd Place: Härte (Tough Love), dir: Rosa von Praunheim, Germany

Panorama Audience Award – Documentary Film 2015
Tell Spring Not To Come This Year, dirs: Saeed Taji Farouky, Michael McEvoy, UK
2nd Place: The Yes Men Are Revolting, dirs: Laura Nix, Andy Bichlbaum, Mike Bonanno, US/GermanyFrance/Denmark/Netherlands
3rd Place: Iraqi Odyssey, dir: Samir, Switzerland/Germany/Iraq/UAE

Europa Cinemas Label as Best European film in the Panorama section
Out Of Nature, dir: Ole Giæver

Crystal Bears in Generation 14plus
Best Film
Flocken (Flocking), dir: Beata Gårdeler, Sweden
Special Mention: Prins (Prince), dir: Sam de Jong, Netherlands

Short Film
A Confession, dir: Petros Silvestros, UK
Special Mention: Nelly, dir: Chris Raiber, Austria

Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury for best feature
The Diary Of A Teenage Girl, dir: Marielle Heller, U.S.
Special Mention: Nena, dir: Saskia Diesing, Netherlands/Germany

Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury for best short film
Coach, dir: Ben Adler, France
Special Mention: Tuolla Puolen (Reunion), dirs: Iddo Soskolne and Janne Reinikainen, Finland

Crystal Bears and Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk Awards in Generation Kplus
Best Film
Min lilla syster (My Skinny Sister), dir: Sanna Lenken, Sweden/Germany
Special Mention: Dhanak (Rainbow), dir: Nagesh Kukunoor, India

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film
Hadiatt Abi (Gift Of My Father), dir: Salam Salman, Iraq/Great Britain/Netherlands/U.S.
Special Mention: The Tie, dir: An Vrombaut, Belgium

Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury for the best feature film
Dhanak (Rainbow), dir: Nagesh Kukunoor, India
Special Mention: Min lilla Syster (My Skinny Sister), dir: Sanna Lenken, Sweden/Germany

Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury for best short film
Giovanni En Het Waterballet (Giovanni And The Water Ballet), dir: Astrid Bussink, Netherlands
Special Mention: Agnes, dir: Anja Lind, Sweden

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox