Back to IndieWire

Tribeca Film Festival Announces Disruptive Innovation Award Honorees

Tribeca Film Festival Announces Disruptive Innovation Award Honorees

READ MORE: 5 Observations About the 2015 Tribeca Film Festival Lineup

The Tribeca Film Festival has announced the honorees for its sixth annual Disruptive Innovation Awards, held in collaboration with renowned Harvard Business School Professor Clay Christensen and the Disruptor Foundation. Inspired by Christensen’s theory of disruptive innovation, the awards celebrate innovators who have broken the mold to significantly impact industries and business models in traditional and non-traditional domains including sports, media, healthcare, social justice, education, politics and entertainment. The awards highlight projects and ideas at the intersection of technology and culture.

The 2015 honorees include Airbnb, the trusted community marketplace for people to list, discover and book unique accommodations around the world; Shane Smith, founder and CEO of global youth media brand VICE; Jake Burton, founder of Burton Snowboards; Rent The Runway, a fashion company with a technology soul that is disrupting the way women get dressed; and Girls Who Code, a national non-profit organization working to close the gender gap in technology and prepare young women for jobs of the future. Other award recipients include acclaimed Australian journalist and Peabody Award winner Peter Greste and Ford Foundation President Darren Walker. Additional honorees are Formula E Racing, Jason Silva, Peek.com’s Ruzwana Bashir, Bloomberg News reporter Mary Childs and HIV researcher Nicole Ticea. Click here for a full list of this year’s award winners.

“We are thrilled to be celebrating with Clay these remarkable innovators who are on the frontiers of disruptive innovation theory implementing new business models with stunning success—many of which are anomalies that the original theory did not predict,” said Craig Hatkoff, Tribeca Film Festival co-founder and chief curator for the awards.

Co-sponsored by Accenture and AT&T, the awards will be moderated by Perri Peltz at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center on Friday, April 24 at 11:00 a.m. The Tribeca Film Festival runs from April 15 to 26.

READ MORE: ‘Goodfellas’ 25th Anniversary Reunion to Close 2015 Tribeca Film Festival

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox