Back to IndieWire

GLAAD To Honor Kelly Ripa

GLAAD To Honor Kelly Ripa

Kelly Ripa — who we are not sure we could heart more after her hilarious “Broad City” appearance (see photo above) — will receive GLAAD’s Excellence in Media Award next month at the organization’s 26th Media Awards in New York.
Ripa’s award presented to media professionals who “have made a significant difference in promoting equality.”  Previous Excellence in Media Award honorees include Russell Simmons, Tyra Banks, Judy Shepard, Julianne Moore, Glenn Close, Barbara Walters, Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Diane Sawyer, Diane Sawyer, and Vanessa Redgrave. Not bad company.

Ripa’s BFF Anderson Cooper will present her with the award. 

Explains GLAAD re: Ripa’s honor:

As the co-host of LIVE with Kelly and Michael, Ripa has shared the daily lives of LGBT Americans with morning audiences across the country. By simply talking about her many friends’ daily lives and sharing her experiences with viewers, Ripa has become an outspoken ally to the LGBT community. Through her daily morning discussions with co-host Michael Strahan and interviews of LGBT guests and allies, she has voiced, her support of marriage equality, sent messages of hope to LGBT youth, and spoken about the importance of LGBT representations in entertainment media.

In addition to discussing LGBT issues on LIVE, Ripa has participated in GLAAD’s Spirit Day campaign to raise awareness about the disproportionate rates of bullying facing LGBT youth. In 2010, when co-hosting the Point Foundation’s Point Honors event with  friend Andy Cohen, she took the opportunity to send a message of support to LGBT youth, also telling parents around the country to be supporting of their children. 

Ripa and her husband Mark Consuelos are also executive producers of Logo’s Secret Guide to Fabulous, in which gay co-hosts Rob Younkers, John Gidding, and Theodore Leaf, help everyday people enhance their daily lives. The show’s second season premieres this summer.  

GLAAD previously announced journalist and MSNBC anchor Thomas Roberts will receive the Vito Russo Award the New York event, comedian Ross Matthews will host. Other guests announced include: Jeffrey Tambor, Judith Light (Transparent); Jonathan Groff (Looking); Laverne Cox (Orange Is the New Black); Tituss Burgess (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt); Rupert Friend (Homeland); Leslie Mann (The Other Woman); out NBA player Jason Collins; and GLAAD President & CEO Sarah Kate Ellis. Additional guests for the New York event will be announced.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox