You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

‘The Tribe,’ ‘Christmas Again’ and More Announced for Montclair Film Festival Main Slate and Inaugural Competitions

'The Tribe,' 'Christmas Again' and More Announced for Montclair Film Festival Main Slate and Inaugural Competitions

READ MORE: Stephen Colbert, Richard Gere and More Announced for Montclair Film Festival Conversation Series

This year’s Montclair Film Festival (MFF) has announced its full lineup, and it features a slew of acclaimed titles currently making the festival circuit.

MFF, which features Stephen Colbert on its advisory board and takes place in Montclair, New Jersey, is headed into its fourth year, and will be handing out jury prizes in major categories for the first time. 

In addition, two special awards will be presented. The David Carr Award for Truth in Non-Fiction Filmmaking will honor a filmmaker, selected by the festival, who utilizes journalistic techniques to explore important contemporary subjects. Established by the festival in memory of late New York Times journalist David Carr, this award will be presented by his friend and colleague Brian Stelter (“Reliable Sources”). 

The Bruce Sinofsky Prize, in honor of the eponymous documentarian, will be presented by Joe Berlinger to the winning film in the festival’s Documentary Feature competition. “We are deeply humbled to honor the memory of our friends David Carr and Bruce Sinofsky at the festival, and we look forward to welcoming the filmmaking community to Montclair,” said MFF founder and Chairman Bob Feinberg.

Read on for the inaugural competition lineups for MFF.

Narrative Feature Competition

“Fidelio: Alice’s Journey,” directed by Lucie Borleteau (France)

“The Fool,” directed by Yury Bykov (Russia)

“Goodnight, Mommy,” directed by Severin FIala and Veronika Franz (Germany)

Heaven Knows What,” directed by Josh Safdie and Benny Safdie (USA)

“Margarita, With A Straw,” directed by Shonali Bose (India)

The Tribe,” directed by Miroslav Slaboshpitsky (Ukraine)
Documentary Film Competition

“The Armor of Light,” directed by Abigail Disney (USA)

“Best of Enemies,” directed by Morgan Neville and Robert Gordon (USA)

“Deep Web,” directed by Alex Winter (USA)

“Listen to Me, Marlon,” directed by Stevan Riley (UK)

“Peace Officer,” directed by Scott Christopherson and Brad Barber (USA)

The Russian Woodpecker,” directed by Chad Gracia (USA)

Future/Now Competition

“Edén,” directed by Elise DuRant (USA/Mexico)

“God Bless the Child,” directed by Robert Machoian and Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck (USA)

“Jackrabbit,” directed by Carleton Ranney (USA)

“Lamb,” directed by Ross Partridge (USA)

“Tears of God,” directed by Robert Hillyner Barnett (USA)

“Tired Moonlight,” directed by Britni West (USA)
New Jersey Films Competition

Christmas, Again,” directed by Charles Poekel

“The One That Got Away,” directed by John Block

“Some Kind of Spark,” directed by Ben Niles

“Stinking Heaven,” directed by Nathan Silver

“Sunshine Superman,” directed by Marah Strauch

“Thought Crimes,” directed by Erin Lee Car

For ticketing information and the full list of films screening at MFF, visit www.montclairfilmfest.org. The festival runs from May 1-10.

READ MORE: Montclair Film Festival Announces Special Screenings, Including ‘Me and Earl and the Dying Girl’

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox