Back to IndieWire

The 2015 Cannes Film Festival Winners

The 2015 Cannes Film Festival Winners

The 68th annual Cannes Film Festival is officially a wrap. At today’s closing ceremony, the main competition jury, led by Joel and Ethan Coen, awarded the Palme d’Or to Jacques Audiard for his drama “Dheepan.” “Son of Saul,” the acclaimed Holocaust drama from first-time filmmaker Laszlo Nemes, won the Grand Prix (runner-up) award. Below find the full list of winners.

READ MORE: How the Cannes Film Festival Changed Its Jurors’ Lives

Palme d’Or: “Dheepan,” Directed by Jacques Audiard

Grand Prix: “Son of Saul,” Directed by Laszlo Nemes

Best Director: “The Assassin,” Directed by Hou Hsiao-Hsien for 

Best Screenplay: “Chronic,” Written by Michel Franco

Camera d’Or (Best First Feature): “La Tierra y la Sombre,” Directed by Cesar Acevedo

Jury Prize: “The Lobster,” Directed by Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Actress: Rooney Mara for “Carol” and Emmanuelle Bercot for “Mon Roi” (Shared Prize)

Best Actor: Vincent Lindon for “The Measure of a Man”

Palme d’Or (Short Film): “Waves ’98,” Directed by Ely Dagher

READ MORE: ‘The Lobster’ Director Yorgos Lanthimos Explains Why Name Actors Need to See His Films Before Working With Him

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox