You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Exclusive: Preview The ‘Infinitely Polar Bear’ Soundtrack Featuring George Harrison, Ike & Tina Turner, And More

Exclusive: Preview The 'Infinitely Polar Bear' Soundtrack Featuring George Harrison, Ike & Tina Turner, And More

Parenting and mental illness collide in the upcoming dramedy “Infinitely Polar Bear,” a very personal story for the film’s writer/director Maya Forbes, who based it on her own life. And in addition to nabbing two strong actors for the movie, with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana leading the story about a manic depressive man trying to raise his children and maintain his relationship with his wife, Forbes has also put together a soundtrack to match the moods and emotions conjured in her film. And one call she made was to her sister China Forbes, frontperson for Pink Martini

 “I wrote ‘The Northern Line’ in a London hotel room on my son’s toy ukulele,” Forbes said of her contribution of an exclusive track.  “Maya asked me to write a song about a train. I had just taken the Northern Line of the tube to see my cousin and I have always found poetry in that title. Mania is like a runaway train. Depression is a train off its track. I really understood my father and his struggles and I am so happy I could contribute this joyful and wistful song.”

Elsewhere, the director has carefully chosen songs by George Harrison, The Doc Watson Family, and Ike & Tina Turner, along with an original score by Theodore Shapiro (“St. Vincent,” “Spy“). Below, you can preview the entire soundtrack which will be released digitally on June 16th and on CD on June 30th. “Infinitely Polar Bear” opens on June 19th.

“Infinitely Polar Bear” Soundtrack Track Listing

01. Run Of The Mill – George Harrison
02. The Oogum Boogum Song – Brenton Wood
03. A Fool In Love – Ike & Tina Turner
04. Your Man – Jerry ‘Swamp Dogg’ Williams
05. Doomsday – Elvis Perkins in Dearland
06. The Northern Line – China Forbes
07. Your Long Journey – The Doc Watson Family
08. Down By The Riverside – Snooks Eaglin
09. Jonah, Come Out The Wilderness – Roaring Lion with Cyril Monrose String Orchestra
10. Amen – The Brentford Choir
11. Kung-Fu Picnic – Theodore Shapiro
12. Hole In The Floor – Theodore Shapiro
13. Depressed – Theodore Shapiro
14. The Pick-Up Game – Theodore Shapiro

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox