Back to IndieWire

‘Fourth Man Out,’ ‘How To Win at Checkers’ Lead Inside Out’s Festival Awards

'Fourth Man Out,' 'How To Win at Checkers' Lead Inside Out's Festival Awards

The 25th anniversary of the Inside Out Toronto LGBT Film Festival has come and gone, wrapping its 11-day run at TIFF Bell Lightbox yesterday with an Awards Brunch at the TIFF Lounge to recognize this year’s award recipients. 

One of the big winners was Andrew Nackman’s directorial debut “Fourth Man Out,” which we featured an exclusive clip of a few days back. Starring Evan Todd, Parker Young, Chord Overstreet, Jon Gabrus and Kate Flannery, the film follows Adam (Todd), a working-class guy living in small-town America with his tight-knit band of BFFs, Chris, Nick and Ortu. Except, at 24, his straight pals still don’t know that Adam is gay. A thoughtful and sweet comic spin on both the rom com and the coming out story, “Fourth Man Out” is definitely worth seeking out — and Inside Out audiences clearly agreed.

Full list of winners below:

Audience Awards:
Best Narrative Feature Award: FOURTH MAN OUT (USA), directed by Andrew Nackman
Sponsored by Suzy Zucker, this generous $2,500 cash award is presented to the audience’s favourite feature-length film.

Best Documentary Film Awards: GAME FACE (Belgium/USA), directed by
Michiel Thomas
This $500 prize is named in recognition of the contribution of Elle Flanders, Inside Out Executive Director from 1996 to 1999.
Best Short Film Award: IN THE HOLLOW (USA), directed by Austin Lee Bunn
Sponsored by Michael Leshner and Michael Stark (in honour of Mikey/Schmikey),
this $1,500 cash award is presented to a short film under 50 minutes in length.

Canadian Juried Awards: This year’s jury members are Janine Fung (award-winning producer, director and writer), Courtnay McFarlane (active in community organizations such as the Black Coalition for Aids Prevention, AYA, Inside Out’s ’97 programming committee and Blackness Yes) and Kathleen Mullen (Festival Director for the Seattle Lesbian & Gay Film Festival and international programmer for Hot Docs).

Best Canadian Feature Award: WHAT WE HAVE, directed by Maxime Desmons
Sponsored by EP Canada/Canada Film Capital, this $2,000 cash award is presented to an established Canadian artist for their short or feature-length narrative or documentary film.

Emerging Canadian Artist Award: Tricia Hagoriles, director of BEAT
Sponsored by RBC Royal Bank, this $2,500 cash award funded by the presenting sponsor is awarded to an emerging Canadian filmmaker who is in the early stages of his or her career. The recipient must have directed no more than two fiction narrative short films, or no more than one fiction narrative feature-length film.

Best Canadian Short: HOLE, directed by Martin Edralin
Sponsored by HARDtv, this $750 cash award is presented to a Canadian film or video that addresses, in a unique fashion, LGBT sexuality and/or erotica.

International Juried Awards: This year’s jury consists of Cheryl Dunye (director WATERMELON WOMAN), Jack Plotnick (best known for his role as “Evie Harris” in Girls Will Be Girls) and Philippe Tasca-Roochvarg (Co-Programmer, Marais Film Festival).
Bill Sherwood Award for Best First Feature:  HOW TO WIN AT CHECKERS (EVERY TIME), directed by Josh Kim
Named in honour of the gay American film director, who stepped boldly onto the international film stage in 1986 with his first feature, Parting Glances, this $2,500 cash award is an international prize presented to a first time feature director.
A Special Jury mention is given to Ursina Lardi for her role in the Swedish drama WHAT’S BETWEEN US directed by Claudia Lorenz.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox