You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Lucasfilm’s Kathleen Kennedy Joins USC Cinematic Arts Board

Lucasfilm's Kathleen Kennedy Joins USC Cinematic Arts Board

As if she didn’t have enough to do, super-achiever president of Lucasfilm, Kathleen Kennedy, with a raft of “Star Wars” sequels in the works, is joining the USC School of Cinematic Arts (SCA) Board of Councilors, announced Dean Elizabeth M. Daley. 
Typically, Kennedy joins a board comprised entirely of film and TV industry alpha males, except for alpha female Shonda Rhimes: Chair Frank Price, Frank Biondi, Jr., Barry Diller, Lee Gabler, David Geffen, Jim Gianopulos, Brian Grazer, Brad Grey, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Alan Levine, George Lucas, Michael Lynton, Don Mattrick, Bill M. Mechanic, Barry Meyer, Les Moonves, Sidney Poitier, John Riccitiello, Barney Rosenzweig, Scott Sassa, Steven Spielberg, Kevin Tsuijihara, John Wells, Jim Wiatt, Paul Junger Witt and Robert Zemeckis.
Prior to joining Lucasfilm in 2012 to take over the reins from George Lucas, Kennedy headed The Kennedy/Marshall Company, which she founded in 1992 with her husband director/producer Frank Marshall, and in 1982 she co-founded Amblin Entertainment with Marshall and Steven Spielberg. Kennedy has produced or executive produced over 60 films, which have collectively garnered 120 Academy Award® nominations, 25 wins, and have grossed over $11 billion worldwide. 

Kennedy has produced three of the highest grossers in history: Spielberg’s “Jurassic Park,” “E.T. The Extra Terrestrial,” and “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.” She also produced “The Sixth Sense,” Bob Zemeckis’s “Back to the Future” trilogy and “Who Framed Roger Rabbit,” as well as “Gremlins,” “The Goonies,” “Poltergeist,” War of the Worlds,” “Twister,” and Spielberg’s “A.I. Artificial Intelligence.” 

Kennedy has been nominated eight times for the Oscar, for such Best Picture nominees as Spielberg’s “Lincoln,” “War Horse,” “Munich,” “The Color Purple” and “E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial” and David Fincher’s “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” Gary Ross’s “Seabiscuit,” and M. Night Shyamalan’s “The Sixth Sense.” 

She’s also on both the Academy Board of Governors and Board of Trustees. 

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox