Back to IndieWire

‘Sweaty Betty,’ ‘Funny Bunny’ Win Big at 18th Brooklyn Film Festival

'Sweaty Betty,' 'Funny Bunny' Win Big at 18th Brooklyn Film Festival

READ MORE: Springboard: Meet the Directors Behind ‘Sweaty Betty,’ a Film Unlike Anything Playing on the Festival Circuit

The Brooklyn Film Festival concluded its 18th edition on Sunday with an awards gala at the Wythe Hotel. This year’s event screened 108 features and shorts from 26 countries and was attended by 70 filmmakers.

Joseph Frank and Zachary Reed were awarded Best Feature Film and the Grand Chameleon Award for “Sweaty Betty,” a documentary-like look at genial lower class Americans in Hyattsville, Maryland. Alison Bagnall’s “Funny Bunny” also earned two awards: Best Actor for Olly Alexander and Best Editing for Kentucker Audley, David Barker and Caleb Johnson. Other winners included “But Not For Me,” “Eric, Winter to Spring” and “Frame by Frame.”

“We’re so pleased with this year’s festival,” said Director of Programming Bryce J. Renninger. “The films, filmmakers, audiences and sponsors all truly exemplify the diversity and spirit of Brooklyn and we look forward to the BFF continuing to be a vibrant part of Brooklyn’s cultural landscape.”

The complete list of winners can be found below:

Best Feature Film: Joseph Frank and Zachary Reed, “Sweaty Betty”
Best Animation: “Day 40”
Best Experimental Film: “In The Future Love Will Also”
Best Short Subject: “From Bed Thou Arose”
Best Short Documentary: “Eric, Winter To Spring”
Best Documentary: “We Were Rebels”
Best Feature Film: “Sweaty Betty”
Animation Category: “T.P.”
Experimental Film Category: “In the Future Love Will Also”
Narrative Short Category: “How to Be a Black Panther”
Short Documentary Category: “Born Into This”
Documentary Category (tie): “Help Us Find Sunil Tripathi” and “Frame by Frame”
Feature Length Narrative Category:  “But Not for Me”
SPIRIT AWARDS | Festival’s Favorite
Narrative Short Category: “And It Was Good”
Experimental Film Category: “Division Avenue”
Short Doc Category: “Treasure Island”
Documentary Category: “Frame by Frame”
Animation Category: “Love in the Time of March Madness”
Feature Category: “Inferno”
Best Brooklyn Project: “Harvey Mitkas for Devil Town”
Best Actor (male): Ágúst Örn B. Wigum, “Whale Valley” and Olly Alexander, “Funny Bunny”
Best Actor (female): Ella Purnell, “Wildlike
Original Score: “But Not for Me”
Best Editing Award: Kentucker Audley, David Barker, and Caleb Johnson, “Funny Bunny”
Best Cinematography Award: Robert Machoian, “God Bless the Child”
Best Screenplay Award: Frank Hall Green, “Wildlike”
Best Producer Award: Julie Christeas, Frank Hall Green, Joseph Stephans and Schuyler Weiss, “Wildlike”
Best New Director Award: Robert Gregson, “The Refrigerator”

READ MORE: Watch: Olly Alexander Comes of Age in Exclusive ‘Funny Bunny’ Trailer

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox