Back to IndieWire

‘The End Of The Tour’ Soundtrack Features R.E.M., Felt, Brian Eno & Danny Elfman

‘The End Of The Tour’ Soundtrack Features R.E.M., Felt, Brian Eno & Danny Elfman

“From early on, R.E.M. and Brian Eno were a band and a musician that sort of factored into the time that David Lipsky and David Foster Wallace spent together,” director James Ponsoldt told ComingSoon recently. “And they had conversations about what they listened to. So I knew that R.E.M. and Eno would feature in the movie.” And indeed they do. Lakeshore Records has released details on the soundtrack for “The End of The Tour,” Ponsoldt’s latest drama that stars Jesse Eisenberg and Jason Segel.

READ MORE: Sundance Review: James Ponsoldt’s ‘The End Of The Tour’ Starring Jason Segel & Jesse Eisenberg

Set in the mid 90s and chronicling the story of the five-day interview between Rolling Stone reporter as well as novelist David Lipsky (Eisenberg) and acclaimed novelist David Foster Wallace (Segel), which took place right after the 1996 publication of Wallace’s groundbreaking epic novel, “Infinite Jest,” the soundtrack to “The End Of The Tour” features R.E.M, Felt, Tracey Ullman, Fun Boy Three, Brian Eno, Tindersticks, with a score by Danny Elfman that’s more in line with his work with Gus Van Sant than Tim Burton.

READ MORE: Watch: Jason Segel Plays David Foster Wallace Opposite Jesse Eisenberg In The First Trailer For ‘The End Of The Tour’

“I was interested in doing something that would be like 25 minutes of score that’s ultra minimalist, that’s real undertones to the movie,” Ponsoldt described. “I think [Elfman] was really excited about the challenge of this.” The closing credits have a cool treat too, The Tindersticks’ evocative cover of Pavement’s iconic 90s ballad, “Here.”

Lakeshore Records will release the sound track digitally on July 24th and on CD August 28, 2015. Tracklist below.

01. Intro – Danny Elfman
02. Talk to Jan – Danny Elfman
03. Sunlight Bathed the Golden Glow – Felt
04. Perfect Circle – R.E.M.
05. Room of Books – Danny Elfman
06. Minneapolis – Danny Elfman
07. Reprise 1 – Danny Elfman
08. They Don’t Know – Tracey Ullman
09. Our Lips Are Sealed – Fun Boy Three
10. Going Sour – Danny Elfman
11. The Tour’s Over – Danny Elfman
12. Mall Of America – Danny Elfman
13. Walking the Dog – Danny Elfman
14. Invasion – Danny Elfman
15. The Shoe – Danny Elfman
16. The Big Ship – Brian Eno
17. Here – Tindersticks
18. Reprise 2 – Danny Elfman

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox