You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

19th Fantasia International Film Festival Announces 2015 Winners

19th Fantasia International Film Festival Announces 2015 Winners

READ MORE: 5 Must-See New Genre Films From the Fantasia International Film Festival

Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival recently concluded its 23-day festival, which featured sold-out screenings of Peyton Reed’s “Ant-Man” and Gilles Paquel-Brenner’s “Dark Places.” The festival also held 22 world premieres, including “Ludo” and “Momentum.” Check out the winners of this year’s festival below.

The winner’s of the 2015 Fantasia International Film Festival include:

Cheval Noir Award- Feature Films:

Cheval Noir Award for Best Film:
Tag”- directed by Sion Sono

Award for Best Director:
Malik Bader for “Cash Only”

Award for Best Screenplay:
Tomoe Kanno for “La La La at Rock Bottom”

Award for Best Actor:
Subaru Shibutani for “La La La at Rock Bottom”

Award for Best Actress:
Reina Triendl for “Tag”

Special Mention:
Sion Sono’s “Tag” for its creative, surprising and monumental opening kill sequence.

New Flesh Award- First Features:

New Flesh Award for Best First Feature Film:
Crumbs” directed by Miguel Llanso

Special Mention:
“The Blue Hour”: by Anucha Boonyawatana, for the artist’s courage and vision.

International Short Film Competition Priz:
Award for Best International Short Film:
“Maurice” directed by François Jaros
Special Mention:
“La Séance”: by Edouard de La Poëze, for its atmosphere, décor and wardrobe.

Satoshi Kon Award for Excellence in Animation:

Satoshi Kon Award for Best Animated Feature Film:
“Miss Hokusai” directed by Keiichi Hara

Special Mention:
“Possessed” by Sam, for its playful homage to horror cinema.

Satoshi Kon Award for Best Animated Short Film:
“Missing One Player” directed by Lei Lei 

Special Mention:
“Ghost Cell” by Antoine Delacharlery, for its technical and visual excellence.

Satoshi Kon Award for Best Family Short Film:

“Une Histoire D’ours” directed by Gabriel Osorio

Special Mention: “La Moufle” directed by Clémentine Robach, for the charm and beauty of its animation and story.

Barry Convex Award for Best Canadian Feature Film: 

“She Who Must Burn” directed by Larry Kent

Prix AQCC 2015:

“Bridgend” directed by Jeppe Ronde

Prix Séquences:

“Miss Hokusai” directed by Keiichi Hara

Special Mention:
“The Blue Hour” directed by Anucha Boonyawatana 

Prix L’Écran Fantastique:

“Synchronicity” directed by Jacob Gentry

Audience Awards:

Best Asian Feature: 
Gold Prize- “Love and Peace” directed by Sion Sono
Silver Prize- “Poison Berry in My Brain” and “A Hard Day”
Bronze Prize- “Robbery”

Best European, North or South American Feature: 
Gold Prize- “Therapy for a Vampire” directed by David Ruhm 
Silver Prize- “Marshland”
Bronze Prize- “Børning,” “Turbo Kid” and “Shamer’s Daughter

Best Canadian or Quebec Feature:
Gold Prize- “Turbo Kid” directed by Anouk Whissell, François SImard and Yoann-Karl Whissell
Silver Prize- “Bite” and “Demolisher” 
Bronze Prize- “Limoilou” 

Best Animated Feature:
Gold Prize- “Miss Hokusai” directed by Keiichi Hara
Silver Prize- “Possessed”
Bronze Prize- “The Case of Hanna and Alice”

Best Documentary:
“I Am Thor” directed by Ryan Wise

Guru Prize for Best Action Feature:
“Big Match” directed by Choi Ho

AddikTV Prize for Best Thriller or Suspense Film:
“Marshland” directed by Alberto Rodriguez 

Most Innovative Short or Feature:
“They Look Like People” directed by Perry Blackshear

Best Short Film:
Gold Prize- “Gold Fish” directed by Michael Konyves
Silver Prize- “Fools Day”
Bronze Prize- “Iris” 

READ MORE: Starz Acquires Fantasia Fest Action Thriller ‘Momentum’

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox