Back to IndieWire

Student Academy Awards Finalists

Student Academy Awards Finalists

On the heels of last Wednesday’s announcement in The Hollywood Reporter’s annual film school rankings that Chapman University (where I am currently
teaching) remains steady at #7, the Academy announced the finalists for the Student Academy Awards.

Chapman has three films that were selected.

Typically nominees in the Animation category are from the top animation schools such as Cal Arts and this year’s success suggests Chapman is joining those

2015 Student Academy Awards Finalists

Keep checking back to to find out the winners and get more information about Chapman’s awards ceremony on September 17, 2015.


Daniel Drummond, “Chiaroscuro,” Chapman University

M. Louis Gordon, “Girl in the Chair,” NYU Tisch School of the Arts

ChiHyun Lee, “Zoe,” School of Visual Arts

Balbinka Korzeniowska, “Awaken,” UCLA

David Karp, “Disconnected,” Cornell University


Jack Anderson, “Wire Cutters,” Chapman University

Lynn Tomlinson, “The Ballad of Holland Island House,” Towson University

Alyce Tzue, “SOAR,” Academy of Art University

Nicholas Manfredi, Elizabeth Ku-Herrero, “Taking the Plunge,” The School of Visual Arts

Seth Boyden, “An Object At Rest,” California Institute of the Arts

Tom Teller, “Hum,” Chapman University

Jenna Hamzawi, “Ram’s Horn,” Brigham Young University


Emily Kassie, “I Married My Family’s Killer,” Brown University

Alexandre Peralta, “Looking at the Stars,” University of Southern California

Dan Kerrigan, “Rise and Shine,” Villanova University

Elinore Wright, “In Transition: Tony Chennault,” Villanova University

Eddie Roqueta, “Silencing the Thunder,” Montana State University

Meg Smaker, “Boxeadora,” Stanford University

Matthew Spaull, “Spiritus,” Rochester Institute of Technology


Arthur Lecouturier, “Do You Even Know…,” IAD (Belgium)

Dustin Loose, “The Last Will,” Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg (Germany)

Fernanda Valadez, “400 Bags,” Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica (Mexico)

Nick Rowland, “GROUP B,” NFTS (United Kingdom)

Patrick Vollrath, “Everything Will Be Okay,” Filmacademy Vienna / Filmakademie Wien (Austria)

Ilker Çatak, “Fidelity,” Hamburg Media School (Germany)

Ahmed Abdullahi, “Francis,” Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts (Sweden)


Henry Hughes, “Day One,” American Film Institute

Bennett Lasseter, ”Stealth,” American Film Institute Conservatory

Stefan Kubicki, “Against Night,” AFI Conservatory

Jeremy Cloe, “This Way Up,” American Film Institute

Jesse Gustafson, “Day 39,” Columbia University

Justin S. Lee, “Drone, “USC School of Cinematic Arts

Kiel Adrian Scott, “Samaria,” New York University

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , , ,