Back to IndieWire

All 3 of Nelson George’s D Hunter Mystery Novels Have Been Optioned By Common

All 3 of Nelson George's D Hunter Mystery Novels Have Been Optioned By Common

As you can see in the embedded tweet above, Nelson George announced on Twitter this evening that all 3 books in his D Hunter mystery series have been optioned by Common

The D. Hunter novels include: “The Accidental Hunter” (2005); “The Plot Against Hip Hop: A Novel” (2011); and “The Lost Treasures of R&B” (2015).

In brief, it’s a fast-paced noir/crime/detective series of stories set in the world of contemporary hip-hop, and follows the exploits of professional bodyguard turned private investigator, D Hunter, set against the backdrop of a gentrifying Brooklyn.

George doesn’t share anything further about the option, so now we wait to learn even more – specifically, what Common has planned for the series: a movie franchise? A TV serial? A TV mini-series? Will they be a starring vehicle for Common?

It’s too early to speculate, and it could be some time before we hear of any kind of progress. Or maybe not.

Stay tuned…

By the way, all 3 books are available widely; Amazon is where my copies came from.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,