Back to IndieWire

Samuel Goldwyn Reveals Writing Awards Finalists and Judges

Samuel Goldwyn Reveals Writing Awards Finalists and Judges

The five finalists, and the judges, have been revealed for the Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, which have honored excellent dramatic writing since 1955. Winners receive $15,000 for first place, $7,500 for second place, $4,000 for third place and $2,000 and $1,000 for honorable mentions on Monday, November 2, at UCLA.

This year’s judges are NBC Chairman Robert Greenblatt, filmmaker Richard LaGravenese (Oscar-nominated writer of “The Fisher King,” “The Bridges of Madison County” and director of “The Last Five Years”) and TV superstar Shonda Rhimes, who created “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Scandal” and executive-produces “How to Get Away with Murder,” which nabbed Viola Davis an Emmy this week.

The finalists are:

Emily Bensinger, UCLA, “Harridans”

Noel Chalmers, UCLA, “Stinker”

Sean Dennison, UC Riverside, “Panacea”

Melissa Finell, UCLA, “Sensitivity Training”

Chloe Keenan, UCLA, “What I Did This Summer – By Sophie Crumb”

Past winners include Francis Ford Coppola, Pamela Gray, Colin Higgins, Eric Roth and novelist Jonathan Kellerman. The prize was founded by late Hollywood producer Samuel Goldwyn, Sr. to encourage young stage, film and TV writers.

READ MORE: Five Students Win 2014 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox