Back to IndieWire

Six Up-and-Coming Women Writers Awarded $30,000 Rona Jaffe Awards

Six Up-and-Coming Women Writers Awarded $30,000 Rona Jaffe Awards

Two poets, a memoirist and three fiction writers have been named the winners of this year’s Rona Jaffe Awards.

Each writer will win a $30,000 cash prize. 

The honorees are Meehan Crist, Vanessa Hua, Ashley M. Jones, Britteney Black Rose Kapri, Amanda Rea and Natalie Haney Tilghman. You can read more about each winner here.

Named after its founder, the author of 16 books, the Rona Jaffe Awards identify and support women writers of exceptional talent in the early stages of their writing careers. Previous winners include Lan Samantha Chang, Eula Biss and Tracy K. Smith.

From the site: “Rona Jaffe (1931-2005) established The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards program in 1995. It is the only national literary awards program of its kind dedicated to supporting women writers exclusively. Since the program began, the Foundation has awarded over $2 million to emergent women writers.”

[via WMEM]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox