Back to IndieWire

Barbra Streisand to Receive 2015 Sherry Lansing Award

Barbra Streisand to Receive 2015 Sherry Lansing Award

Barbra Streisand has been named this year’s recipient of the Sherry Lansing Award, which celebrates female leadership in the media. 

The pioneering singer/songwriter/actress/writer/director/producer/activist/philanthropist will be feted during The Hollywood Reporter’s 2015 Women in Entertainment breakfast on December 9.

Lansing, the namesake of the award, is the former CEO of Paramount and the first woman to lead a major studio. “Hearing that Barbra had agreed to accept the Sherry Lansing Leadership Award was both humbling and exhilarating. Barbra’s remarkable professional achievements and philanthropic generosity have greatly inspired me and hundreds of millions of people worldwide,” remarked Lansing. 

“Barbra Streisand perfectly exemplifies the ideals and mission of the Women in Entertainment initiative,” said Janice Min, co-president and chief creative officer of Guggenheim Media’s Entertainment Group, which owns THR. “She’s a once-in-a-generation talent who continues to transcend boundaries and pave the way for women in entertainment, philanthropy and politics. It’s an honor to have her carry this torch.”

Previous winners of the Sherry Lansing Leadership Award include Shonda Rhimes, Oprah Winfrey, Jane Fonda, Meryl Streep, Jodie Foster, Diane Keaton, Glenn Close and Barbara Walters.

[via THR]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,