Back to IndieWire

BBC Announces the 15 Up-and-Coming Writers Selected for its Comedy Writersroom

BBC Announces the 15 Up-and-Coming Writers Selected for its Comedy Writersroom

BBC Writersroom has announced Comedy Room 2015 – a development pool of 15 up-and-coming writers, selected from Writersroom open talent searches, alongside input from BBC Comedy (TV and radio). They will receive targeted training and development for six months, including workshops, masterclasses and networking events.

The aim of the program is to encourage and develop the best in new comedy writing and to help these writers to build strong connections within BBC Comedy.

Anne Edyvean, Head of the BBC Writersroom, says: “The creation of Comedy Room is a way of answering the question, ‘How do we best support emerging writing talent in Comedy?’ We decided on regular, structured teaching; introductions to key people in BBC Comedy; workshops; and script support for a hand-picked group of writers, over a limited time-period, in conjunction with BBC Radio and TV Comedy.”

The selected writers are: Christine Robertson, Paul Parncutt, Laurence Tratalos, Tez Ilyas, Ryan Grant, Sally Stott, Lolly Adefope, Samuel de Ceccatty & Stuart Benson, Mat Rees & Joanne Lau, Michael Beck, Lee Coan, Shai Hussain, Shazad Mohammed, Patrick Coyle, and finally Tracy Brabin.

BBC Writersroom runs schemes targeting talent from a range of sources and works in partnerships with theatres, writers’ organisations, screen agencies, and the wider cultural industries. It helps new writers develop their craft through professional training, the website and in open sessions around the country with the UK’s best writing talent.

In six months, BBC Writersroom will run Drama Room (for Drama writers), in the same way, partnering with BBC Drama.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged