Back to IndieWire

Short Film-Centric Laguna Film Festival Unveils Award Winners

Short Film-Centric Laguna Film Festival Unveils Award Winners

READ MORE: First Annual Shorts-Only Laguna Film Festival Announces Lineup

The first-ever Laguna Film Festival has awarded 19 short films among jury and audience award categories. The festival ran October 16-18 and was founded by 18-year-old filmmaker Austin Fickman. 

“This weekend and this festival have blown me away,” said Fickman in a statement. “To be able to provide an environment for filmmakers of short films to have their films screened, meet and talk with other directors and producers, and have a cool experience is a dream come true. The support from the community, people from many branches of the entertainment industry, as well as my family and friends, is truly priceless.”

The jury deciding the winning films included Andy Fickman (Director/Producer/Writer, Oops Doughnuts Productions), Betsy Sullenger (Producer, Oops Doughnuts Productions), Phillip Raskind (WME, Partner), Michael Wimer (Executive Producer, 2012), Meredith Wechter (Feature Film Agent, WME) and Elissa Leeds (Manager, Reel Talent Management), among others.

The Jury Awards included:

Best of the Fest Short Film: “Alzheimers: A Love Story,” directed by Gabe Schimmel, Monica Petruzzelli, Amanda Le and Riani Singgih

Best of the Fest Film School Student Short: “The Magic Shows,” directed by Sahand Nikoukar

Best Animated Short: “Cry of the Fox,” directed by Jason Ronzani and Ning Xu

Best Comedy Short: “Twisted,” directed by Stuart Bowen

Best Documentary Short: “Alzheimers: A Love Story”

Best Drama Short: “Unspoken,” directed by Eric Otten

Best Experimental Short: “Effort,” directed by Kuesti Fraun

Best Horror Short: “Night of the Slasher,” directed by Shant Hamassian

Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Short: “Prism,” directed by Jackson Miller

Best Youth Filmmaker: “Tree Hugger,” directed by Kira Bursky

Best Film School Student Film: “Alison and Jeremy,” directed by Alyxandra Press

The Audience Awards included:

Best Documentary: “Alzheimers: A Love Story”

Best Animated Short: “Cry the Fox”

Best Drama Short: “Unspoken”

Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Short: “The Looking Planet,” directed by Eric Anderson

Best Comedy Short: “Murphy’s Law,” directed Alexander Fichera 

Best Horror Short: “Don’t Let Them In,” directed by David Lawrence

Best Youth-Produced Short: “Tree Hugger”

Film School Student Short: “The Magic Shoes”

READ MORE: 24th Annual Woods Hole Film Festival Announces Jury and Audience Award Winners

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox