Back to IndieWire

‘Transparent,’ ‘Mr. Robot’ and ‘Kimmy Schmit’ Among First Gotham Award Series Nominees

'Transparent,' 'Mr. Robot' and 'Kimmy Schmit' Among First Gotham Award Series Nominees

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) has announced the first ever “Breakthrough Series” nominees for the 25th Annual IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards, and they are an LGBT-friendly batch.  

In recognition that the spirit and vision of the best of ‘independent film’ is also realized in content created for a variety of platforms in a variety of lengths and formats, 2015 marks the first year that the IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards will acknowledge serialized television and web content. Two awards given in Long and Short form, Breakthrough Series will “honor exceptionally realized new series that expand the possibilities of creative, independent storytelling.” 

The Breakthrough Series awards honor series that premiered September 1, 2014 – August 30, 2015.  Nominees have been made by committee recommendation and not through open submission review. Committees are comprised of critics, journalists, curators, programmers and others not directly engaged in the production and distribution of TV and new media content. Separate juries of writers, directors, actors, producers, editors, and others will determine the final Gotham Award recipients. 

“We are thrilled this year to include creators working in serialized content, where so much innovative and risk-taking work now thrives,” said Joana Vicente, Executive Director of IFP and the Made in NY Media Center. “As we have for many years in film, the IFP Gotham Awards now shines a spotlight on the bold, creative and diverse visions represented through the nominees. This is a particularly exciting year, as 9 out of 10 of the inaugural nominated series were created by women and we are thrilled to be able to recognize their work.”  

The 2015 IFP Gotham Independent Film Award Breakthrough Series nominations are:


Breakthrough Series – Long Form*

A continuing or limited series with episodes running 30 minutes or longer.

Jane the Virgin, Jennie Snyder Urman, Creator (The CW)

Mr. Robot, Sam Esmail, Creator (USA Network)

Transparent, Jill Soloway, Creator (Amazon)

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Tina Fey, Robert Carlock, Creators (Netflix)  

UnREAL, Marti Noxon, Sarah Gertrude Shapiro, Creators (Lifetime)


Breakthrough Series – Short Form*

A continuing or limited series new digital media programming comprised of 5 or more episodes with the majority under 20 minutes.  

Bee and PuppyCat, Natasha Alllegri, Creator (Cartoon Hangover)

The Impossibilities, Anna Kerrigan, Creator (seriesofimpossibilities.com)

Qraftish, Christal, Creator (Blackgirldangerous.com)

Shugs and Fats, Nadia Manzoor and Radhka Vaz, Creator (ShugsandFats.TV)

You’re So Talented, Sam Bailey, Creator (Open TV) 


Twelve writers, critics and programmers participated in the nomination process. The Nominating Committees for the 2015 IFP Gotham Breakthrough Series Awards were:

Nominating Committee for Breakthrough Series – Long Form:

Andy Greenwald, Staff Writer, Grantland 

Tim Goodman, Chief TV Critic, The Hollywood Reporter

KC Ifeanyi, Assistant Editor/General Assignment Reporter, Fast Company 

Matthew Gilbert, TV Critic, The Boston Globe

David Sims, Senior Associate Editor, Culture, The Atlantic  

Liz Shannon Miller, TV Editor, Indiewire 

Nominating Committee for Breakthrough Series – Short Form:

Randi Kleiner, Founder & CEO, SeriesFest 

Micah Gottlieb, Blackbook 

Jon Korn, Shorts Programmer, Sundance Film Festival

Rich Goldstein, Producer, The Daily Beast

Paula Mejia, Reporter & Culture Writer, Newsweek

Aymar Jean Christian, Founding Editor, Televisual


Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox