Back to IndieWire

Indie Spirit Awards Nominations: ‘Carol’ Leads with Six, ‘Spotlight and ‘Beasts of No Nation’ Close Behind with Five Each

Indie Spirit Awards Nominations: 'Carol' Leads with Six, 'Spotlight and 'Beasts of No Nation' Close Behind with Five Each

Todd Haynes’ “Carol” led the 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards nominations with six, including Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, and two nods for Best Female Lead (Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara), the most of any film. “Spotlight,” about the Boston Globe investigative team that exposed the Catholic Church sex-abuse scandal, and Netflix’s child-soldier drama “Beasts of No Nation” were close behind with five apiece.  

Among the other highlights, Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson’s adult-oriented animated feature, “Anomalisa,” nabbed four nominations, alongside Sean Baker’s iPhone-shot L.A. odyssey “Tangerine,” including groundbreaking nominations for transgender stars Kitana Kiki Rodriguez and Mya Taylor. 

Read the full list of nominees below: 

Best Feature
“Beasts of No Nation”

Best Female Lead
Bel Powley, “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
Brie Larson, “Room”
Cate Blanchett, “Carol”
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, “Tangerine”
Rooney Mara, “Carol”

Best Male Lead
Abraham Attah, “Beasts of No Nation”
Ben Mendelsohn, “Mississippi Grind”
Christopher Abbott, “James White”
Jason Segel, “The End of the Tour”
Koudous Seihon, “Mediterranea”

Best Supporting Female
Cynthia Nixon, “James White”
Jennifer Jason Leigh, “Anomalisa”
Marin Ireland, “Glass Chin”
Mya Taylor, “Tangerine”
Robin Bartlett, “H.”

Best Supporting Male
Idris Elba, “Beasts of No Nation”
Kevin Corrigan, “Results”
Michael Shannon, “99 Homes”
Paul Dano, “Love & Mercy”
Richard Jenkins, “Bone Tomahawk”

Best Director
Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Beasts of No Nation”
Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson, “Anomalisa”
David Robert Mitchell, “It Follows”
Sean Baker, “Tangerine”
Todd Haynes, “Carol”
Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight” 

Best Screenplay
Charlie Kaufman, “Anomalisa”
Donald Marguiles, ” The End of the Tour”
Phyllis Nagy, “Carol”
S. Craig Zahler, “Bone Tomahawk”
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, “Spotlight”

Best Documentary
“Best of Enemies”
“Heart of a Dog”
“The Look of Silence”
“The Russian Woodpecker”

Best International Film
“A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence”
“Embrace of the Serpent”
“Son of Saul”

Best Cinematography
Cary Joji Fukunaga, “Beasts of No Nation”
Ed Lachman, “Carol”
Joshua James Richards, “Songs My Brothers Taught Me”
Michael Gioulakis, “It Follows”
Reed Morano, “Meadowland”

Best Editing
Julio C. Perez IV, “It Follows”
Kristan Sprague, “Manos Sucias”
Nathan Nugent, “Room”
Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie, “Heaven Knows What” 
Tom McArdle, “Spotlight”

Best First Feature (awarded to director and producers)
“James White”
Director: Josh Mond
Producers: Max Born | Antonio Campos | Sean Durkin | Melody Roscher | Eric Schultz

“Manos Sucias”
Director: Josef Kubota Wladyka
Producers: Elena Greenlee  |  Márcia Nunes

Director: Jonas Carpignano
Producers: Jason Michael Berman | Chris Columbus | Jon Coplon | Christoph Daniel | Andrew Kortschak | John Lesher | Ryan Lough | Justin Nappi | Alain Peyrollaz | Gwyn Sannia | Marc Schmidheiny | Victor Shapiro | Ryan Zacarias

“Songs My Brothers Taught Me”
Director: Chloé Zhao
Producers: Mollye Asher  |  Nina Yang Bongiovi  |  Angela C. Lee  |  Forest Whitaker

“The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
Director: Marielle Heller
Producers: Miranda Bailey  |  Anne Carey  |  Bert Hamelinck  |  Madeline Samit

Best First Screenplay
Emma Donoghue, “Room”
Jesse Andrews, “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl”
John Magary, Russell Harbaugh, and Myna Joseph, “The Mend”
Jonas Carpignano, “Mediterranea”
Marielle Heller, “The Diary of a Teenage Girl” 

John Cassavetes Award (given to the writer, director and producer(s) of a feature made for under $500,000)
Writer / director / producer: Jennifer Phang
Writer / producer: Jacqueline Kim
Producers: Robert Chang  |  Ken Jeong  |  Moon Molson  |  Theresa Navarro

“Christmas, Again”
Writer / director / producer: Charles Poekel

“Heaven Knows What”
Directors: Josh Safdie and Benny Safdie
Writers: Josh Safdie  |  Ronald Bronstein
Producers: Oscar Boyson  |  Sebastian Bear McClard

Writer / director / producer: Trey Edward Shults
Producers: Justin R. Chan  |  Chase Joliet  |  Wilson Smith

“Out of My Hand”
Writer / director: Takeshi Fukunaga
Writer / producer: Donari Braxton
Producer: Mike Fox

Robert Altman Award (given to the film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)
Director: Tom McCarthy
Casting director: Kerry Barden and Paul Schnee
Ensemble cast: Billy Crudup  |  Brian d’Arcy James  |  Paul Guilfoyle  | Neal Huff  |  Michael Keaton  |  Rachel McAdams  |  Mark Ruffalo  | Liev Schreiber  |  Jamie Sheridan  |  John Slattery  |  Stanley Tucci

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox