You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Jessica Chastain Named Honorary Chair of 2016 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Jessica Chastain Named Honorary Chair of 2016 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Jessica Chastain

Jessica Chastain

Daniel Bergeron

READ MORE: 10 Versatile Performances That Prove Jessica Chastain’s an Heir to Meryl Streep

As we inch closer to awards season, the 31st Independent Spirit Awards prepares for their announcement of this year’s batch of independent film nominees. Jessica Chastain has now been announced as the annual award shows’s Honorary Chair.

Chastain was selected, says Film Independent President Josh Welsh, because she is “someone whose work as an actor and producer embodies the qualities we celebrate at Film Independent.” Chastain has previously been nominated for two Spirit Awards, for both “Take Shelter” and more recently, J.C. Chandor’s “A Most Violent Year.” 

Film Independent has also announced that John Boyega (“Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens”) and Elizabeth Olsen (“Martha Marcia May Marlene”) will announce this year’s nominees at a press conference held at Hollywood’s W Hotel on November 24th at 10AM PST.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards honor the best of American independent films. The awards show is televised exclusively on IFC and this year’s ceremony will air on February 27, 2015 at 5PM ET in Santa Monica. Joel Gallen returns as executive producer for a second year. 

READ MORE: Review: Why Guillermo del Toro’s ‘Crimson Peak’ Is Not Your Average Gothic Romance

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox