Back to IndieWire

‘Spotlight’ Director Tom McCarthy to Receive Sonny Bono Visionary Award

'Spotlight' Director Tom McCarthy to Receive Sonny Bono Visionary Award

READ MORE: Cate Blanchett to Receive Desert Palm Achievement Award

Spotlight” writer-director Tom McCarthy is joining the likes of Cate Blanchett, Johnny Depp, Brie Larson and Saoirse Ronan as an award winner at this year’s 27th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival. The director will receive the Sonny Bono Visionary Award, which in the past has gone to filmmakers such as Tom Hooper, Danny Boyle, Quentin Tarantino, Richard Linklater and Michel Hazanavicius.

“Tom McCarthy’s latest feature is the critically acclaimed ‘Spotlight,’ a remarkable film that creates cinematic tension between two institutions, as The Boston Globe investigates the Catholic Church,” said Festival Chairman Harold Matzner. “For his expert storytelling of this subject matter, The Palm Springs International Film Festival is proud to present Tom McCarthy with the Sonny Bono Visionary Award.”

McCarthy’s list of filmmaking credits include the BAFTA-winning “The Station Agent,” “Win Win,” “The Visitor,” “The Cobbler” and “Up,” which earned him an Oscar nomination for Best Original Screenplay.

PSIFF runs January 1-11, with the awards ceremony taking place on Saturday, January 2, at the Palm Springs Convention Center. 

READ MORE: Saoirse Ronan to Receive International Star Award at Palm Springs

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox