Back to IndieWire

‘Game Of Thrones,’ ‘Mad Men,’ ‘The Jinx,’ & More Nominated For 2016 Producers Guild TV Awards

'Game Of Thrones,' 'Mad Men,' 'The Jinx,' & More Nominated For 2016 Producers Guild TV Awards

Three are two topics sure to dominate the movie conversation in December 2015: “Star Wars” and awards. The latest volley comes from the Producers Guild of America,which has unveiled the nominees for the best Television Series of the year.

READ MORE: The 20 Best Breakthrough Directors Of The Year 

For drama, it’s essentially a highlight reel of the most popular prestige programs at the moment. My only question would be why widely admired “Fargo” didn’t make the grade. For comedy, again there are no surprises, but no left-of-field choices either —the choices are all pretty mainstream fare, though it’s nice to see “Inside Amy Schumer” get recognized. Meanwhile, HBO‘s much talked about “The Jinx: The Life And Deaths Of Robert Durst” gets a nod in the non-fiction realm.

The PGA awards will be handed out on January 23, 2016. Check out the list below.

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:
Better Call Saul
Producers: Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Melissa Bernstein, Mark Johnson, Stewart A. Lyons, Thomas Schnauz, Gennifer Hutchison, Nina Jack, Diane Mercer, Bob Odenkirk 
Game of Thrones
Producers: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss, Bryan Cogman, Lisa McAtackney, Chris Newman, Greg Spence
Producers: Alex Gansa, Alexander Cary, Lesli Linka Glatter, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Meredith Stiehm, Patrick Harbinson, Michael Klick, Claire Danes, Lauren White
House of Cards
Producers: Beau Willimon, Dana Brunetti, John David Coles, Josh Donen, David Fincher, Eric Roth, Kevin Spacey, Robert Zotnowski, Karen Moore
Mad Men
Producers: Matthew Weiner, Scott Hornbacher, Janet Leahy, Semi Chellas, Erin Levy, Jon Hamm, Blake McCormick, Tom Smuts
The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:
Inside Amy Schumer
Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility and a full list of nominees will be included in our next announcement.
Modern Family
Producers: Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Jeff Morton, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Danny Zuker, Vali Chandrasekaran, Megan Ganz, Elaine Ko, Kenny Schwartz, Chuck Tatham, Rick Wiener, Chris Smirnoff, Sally Young
Silicon Valley
Producers: Mike Judge, Alec Berg, Jim Kleverweis, Clay Tarver, Dan O’Keefe, Michael Rotenberg, Tom Lassally
Producers: Jill Soloway, Andrea Sperling, Victor Hsu, Nisha Ganatra, Rick Rosenthal, Bridget Bedard
Producers: Armando Iannucci, Chris Addison, Simon Blackwell, Christopher Godsick, Stephanie Laing, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Frank Rich, Tony Roche, Kevin Cecil, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Andy Riley, Will Smith, Bill Hill
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:
30 for 30
Producers: Connor Schell, John Dahl, Bill Simmons, Erin Leyden, Andrew Billman, Marquis Daisy, Libby Geist
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown
Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig
The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst
Producers: Marc Smerling, Andrew Jarecki, Jason Blum
Shark Tank
Producers: Mark Burnett, Clay Newbill, Yun Lingner, Max Swedlow, Jim Roush, Brandon Wallace, Becky Blitz, Laura Roush, Shaun Polakow, Phil Gurin
Producers: BJ Levin, Bill Maher, Eddy Moretti, Shane Smith, Jonah Kaplan, Tim Clancy, Ben Anderson, Shawn Killebrew
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:
The Amazing Race
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo
Dancing with the Stars
Producers: Rob Wade, Ashley Edens-Shaffer, Joe Sungkur
Project Runway
Producers: Jonathan Murray, Sara Rea, Desiree Gruber, Jane Cha, Heidi Klum, Tim Gunn, Teri Weideman
Top Chef
Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility and a full list of nominees will be included in our next announcement.
The Voice
Producers: Audrey Morrissey, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Marc Jansen, Lee Metzger, Chad Hines, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:
The Colbert Report
Producers: Stephen T. Colbert, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart, Meredith Bennett, Barry Julien, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Paul Dinello, Matt Lappin
Key & Peele
Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility and a full list of nominees will be included in our next announcement.
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton
Real Time with Bill Maher
Producers: Bill Maher, Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Marc Gurvitz, Billy Martin, Dean E. Johnsen, Matt Wood
The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon
Producers: Lorne Michaels, Jamie Granet Bederman, Katie Hockmeyer, Jim Juvonen, Brian McDonald, Josh Lieb, Gavin Purcell
The following programs were not vetted for producer eligibility this year, but winners of the Award for Outstanding Children’s Program will be announced at the official ceremony on January 23:
The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:
Doc McStuffins
The Fairly OddParents
Sesame Street
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Toy Story That Time Forgot

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox