Back to IndieWire

Kodak Super 8 Filmmaking Challenge Announces Jury and Opens Voting

Kodak Super 8 Filmmaking Challenge Announces Jury and Opens Voting

READ MORE: Kodak Continues Push to Keep Film Alive with New President of Motion Picture and Entertainment

Earlier this year, Kodak launched an international filmmaking competition to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Super 8 film. The company was calling on filmmakers to submit short films shot on Super 8, ranging between 15 seconds and five minutes. Now that the deadline is over and there have been over 500 submissions, Kodak is proud to announce the jury that will help decide the eventual winner. 

The competition will see two rounds of judging. Votes will by cast by cinematographer Rachel Morrison (“Dope,” “Fruitvale Station”), photographer Elliott Landy, producer Glenn Gainor, writer-producer Josh Friedman, film festival director Leslie Raymond and Pro8mm founders Phil and Rhonda Vigeant. 15 semi-finalists will be chosen in the first round of judging and revealed December on 29. The clips by all 15 semi-finalists will be shown at a special screening hosted by Kodak at the Slamdance Film Festival on January 25, where the final four winners will be announced. The victors will consist of the top three voted films and one juried film. 

All semifinalists and finalists will win prizes, which range from a Kodak PIXPRO SP360 Action Camera to a Pro8mm Rhonda Super 8 camera, film stock, processing and swag, valued at up to $12,500. The Kodak Super 8 Filmmaking Challenge is hosted on The Audience Awards contest platform. Viewers can sign up for free to watch and vote for their favorite clips from December 22 to January 25.

For more information, vist the Kodak Super 8 Filmmaking Challenge website

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox