Back to IndieWire

Oscar Frontrunner Ridley Scott Gets Achievement Award from Cinematographers

Oscar Frontrunner Ridley Scott Gets Achievement Award from Cinematographers

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) will give director-producer Ridley Scott, 78, its annual Board of Governors Award for “advancing the art and craft of filmmaking” at the 30th ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement on February 14, 2016, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.
Scott is considered the frontrunner in this year’s Oscar race for directing blockbuster hit “The Martian,” which marks his best work since he earned Best Director Oscar and DGA noms for “Black Hawk Down” (2001), Best Picture-winner “Gladiator” (2000) and “Thelma & Louise” (1991). He scored a Golden Globe® nomination last week for Best Director for “The Martian,” which also nabbed nods for Best Motion Picture Comedy and Best Actor in a Comedy for Matt Damon. 
In 1977, Scott made his feature-film directorial debut with “The Duellists,” for which he won the Best First Film Award at the Cannes Film Festival. He followed with the blockbuster science-fiction thriller “Alien,” which broke out Sigourney Weaver and launched a franchise. In 1982, Scott directed the sci-fi classic “Blade Runner.” 
Scott and his late brother, Tony, founded the commercial and advertising production company RSA in 1967. RSA has built a reputation for creating innovative, visually arresting commercials, most notably the “1984” ad for Apple which introduced the Mac computer. They also formed the film and television production company Scott Free, which has produced such films as “In Her Shoes,” “The A-Team,” “Cyrus,” “The Grey” and the Brad Pitt western “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford.”
On television, Scott executive produces the “The Good Wife” for CBS. Scott has also been an executive producer on the company’s long-form miniseries “The Pillars of the Earth” (Starz), “The Andromeda Strain” (A&E), “The Company” (TNT) and on HBO movies “RKO 281,” “The Gathering Storm,” “Gettysburg,” and “Into the Storm” and the Amazon Studios series “The Man in the High Castle.”
Scott directed his first television pilot, “The Vatican,” for Sony Pictures Television in 2013. Written by Paul Attanasio, the show goes behind the scenes with the people who run the Catholic Church. Scott will also executive produce the series.
Scott was awarded a knighthood from the Order of the British Empire in 2003. 
Previous recipients of the ASC Board of Governors Award include Barbra Streisand, Harrison Ford, Julia Roberts, Christopher Nolan, Warren Beatty, Francis Ford Coppola, Sally Field, Morgan Freeman, Ron Howard, Sydney Pollack, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox