Back to IndieWire

Casting Society of America Artios Awards Nominations: Snubs and Surprises

Casting Society of America Artios Awards Nominations: Snubs and Surprises

Final ballots were distributed Monday for the Casting Society of America (CSA) feature film Artios Awards; voting will continue through Friday, January 8, 2016. The casting directors recognize big-budget studio and lower budget indie categories for comedy and drama as well as animation.  

Of the nominees listed below, Oscar contenders include big-budget comedies “The Big Short” and “Joy,” big-budget dramas “Bridge of Spies,” “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “Spotlight,” “Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” and “Straight Outta Compton,” low-budget dramas “Brooklyn,” “Carol,” “The Danish Girl,” “Room” and “Trumbo,” and animated features “Inside Out” and “The Good Dinosaur,” both from Pixar. 

Given all the possibilities, left out of these lists are “Sicario,” “Creed,” “Youth,” “45 Years,” “The Revenant,” “The Martian,” “Steve Jobs,” “The Hateful Eight,” “Beasts of No Nation,” “End of the Tour,” “Love & Mercy,” and animated “Anomalisa.” 

Winners for film, television, theater, short film and new media categories will be presented at the 31st Annual Artios Awards on January 21, 2016 held at both the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles and the Hard Rock Café in New York, where “Steve Jobs” director Danny Boyle will accept the Career Achievement Award, writing partners Michelle and Robert King (“The Good Wife”) will get the New York Apple Award, and casting director Bernard Telsey (“Into the Woods”) will take home the Hoyt Bowers Award.

Feature film nominees:
“The Big Short” Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting) 
“The Intern” Bernard Telsey, Laray Mayfield, Tiffany Little Canfield, David Vaccari (Associate) 
“Joy” Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham, Angela Peri (Location Casting) 
“Sisters” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate) 
“Tomorrowland” April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Corinne Clark (Location Casting), Jennifer Page (Location Casting)
“Bridge of Spies” Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate) 
“Mad Max: Fury Road” Ronna Kress, Nikki Barrett 
“Spotlight” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, John Buchan (Location Casting), Jason Knight (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Joey Montenarello (Associate), Adam Richards (Associate) 
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg,Jessica Sherman (Associate) 
“Straight Outta Compton” Cindy Tolan, Victoria Thomas, Meagan Lewis(Location Casting), Beth Sepko (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Lucinda Syson (Location Casting), Pat Moran (Location Casting) 
“Infinitely Polar Bear” Douglas Aibel, Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate) 
“Me & Earl and the Dying Girl” Angela Demo, Nancy Mosser (Location Casting), Katie Shenot (Location Casting) 
“Ricki and the Flash” Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield, Conrad Woolfe (Associate) 
“Sleeping With Other People” Jennifer Euston, Emer O’Callaghan 
“While We’re Young” Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)
“Brooklyn” Fiona Weir, Lucie Robitaille (Location Casting), Jim Carnahan (Location Casting), 
“Carol” Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox (Associate), Jodi Angstreich (Associate) 
“The Danish Girl” Nina Gold  
“Room” Fiona Weir, Robin D. Cook, Jonathan Oliveira (Associate) 
“Trumbo” David Rubin, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Melissa Pryor (Associate)
“Big Stone Gap” Henry Russell Bergstein, Stephanie Holbrook, Erica Arvold, Anne Chapman 
“Dope” Kim Coleman 
“Grandma” Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein  
“The Mend” Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee and Allison Estrin
“Mistress America” Douglas Aibel, Henry Russell Bergstein (Associate)
“It Follows” Mark Bennett 
“James White” Susan Shopmaker 
“Meadowland” Richard Hicks 
“Sisterhood of Night” Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox, Jodi Angstreich 
“The Stanford Prison Experiment” Angela Demo 


“The Good Dinosaur” Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon  
“Inside Out” Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon 
“Legend of the Neverbeast” Jason Henkel 
“Pixies” Brad Gilmore 

Past Artios Award winners include the casting directors of: “Wolf of Wall Street,”  “Boyhood,” and Best Picture Oscar winners “12 Years a Slave” and “Argo.” 

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox