Back to IndieWire

Cinematographers Nominate Deakins, Kaminski, Lachman, Lubezki and Seale

Cinematographers Nominate Deakins, Kaminski, Lachman, Lubezki and Seale

The theatrical nominees for the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement are Roger Deakins for Denis Villeneuve’s “Sicario,” Janusz Kaminski for Steven Spielberg’s “Bridge of Spies,” Ed Lachman for Todd Haynes’ “Carol,” Emmanuel Lubezki for Alejandro Gonzales Inarritu’s “The Revenant” and John Seale for George Miller’s “Mad Max: Fury Road.” The winner will be revealed at the ASC Awards gala at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles on February 14th.

Lubezki won the ASC award as well as the Oscar the last two years for A.G. Inarritu’s “Birdman” and Alfonso Cuaron’s “Gravity,” and also took the ASC’s top prize for Terrence Malick’s “The Tree of Life” in 2012 and Cuaron’s “Children of Men” in 2007. He was nominated in 2000 for Tim Burton’s “Sleepy Hollow.”

READ MORE: “How ‘The Revenant’ Changed Emmanuel Lubezki’s Life”

This is Deakins’ 14th ASC nomination. He previously won for Sam Mendes’ “Skyfall,” Frank Darabont’s “The Shawshank Redemption,” and “the Coens’ The Man Who Wasn’t There.” His other nominations include “Unbroken,” “Prisoners,” “True Grit,” “The Reader,” “Revolutionary Road,” “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford,” “No Country for Old Men,” “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”, “Kundun,” and “Fargo.” After 12 Oscar nominations Deakins is overdue for a win, and “Sicario” is showing strength among the Guilds.

READ MORE: “How Roger Deakins Crossed New Borders with Denis Villeneuve for ‘Sicario'”

Seale earned top honors from the ASC for Anthony Minghella’s “The English Patient” and received nominations for Minghella’s “Cold Mountain,” Wolfgang Petersen’s “The Perfect Storm,” and Barry Levinson’s “Rain Man.”

READ MORE: “George Miller and DP John Seale Go Inside ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’: ‘It Was Like Being in a Video Game'”

Kaminski has been nominated for Spielberg’s “Lincoln,” “Saving Private Ryan,” “Amistad,” and “Schindler’s List” and Julian Schnabel’s “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly.”

READ MORE: “NYFF: Spielberg’s ‘Bridge of Spies’ Celebrates a Stand-Up Man”

Lachman was previously nominated in 2012 in the television movie category for HBO’s “Mildred Pierce,” and for the feature film “Far From Heaven,” both directed by Haynes.

READ MORE: “How NYFCC Award Winner Ed Lachman Shot ‘Carol’ Through the Prism of ’50s Photojournalism” 

Notably missing in a competitive race is Bob Richardson’s stunning Ultra-Panavision work in Quentin Tarantino’s “The Hateful Eight.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox