You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

HBO Dominates Producers Guild TV Nominations

HBO Dominates Producers Guild TV Nominations

As with the Writers Guild of America awards nominations, the PGA favored cable, premium, and streaming outlets over broadcast networks in its TV categories this year, with HBO nabbing a leading 12 nominations in total—for “Game of Thrones,” “Silicon Valley,” “Veep,” “The Jinx,” “Vice,” “Last Week Tonight,” “True Detective,” “Hard Knocks,” “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel,” “Real Time with Bill Maher,” and documentaries on Greg Louganis and Kareem Abdul Jabbar.

READ MORE: “‘Game of Thrones,’ ‘Mad Men,’ ‘Fargo,’ and ‘Transparent’ Land WGA Nominations”

Tuesday morning’s nominations in the Long-Form Television (limited series and TV movies), Sports Program, and Digital Series categories complete the field following the announcement of nominees in the other categories last month. FX nabbed both of its nominations in the long-form category, with one each for “American Horror Story: Hotel” and the critically acclaimed “Fargo.”

Comedy Central followed HBO with three nominations in the major categories, for “Inside Amy Schumer,” “Key & Peele,” and the final season of “The Colbert Report,” as did ABC (“American Crime,” “Dancing with the Stars,” “Modern Family”). AMC (“Better Call Saul,” “Mad Men”), Netflix (“House of Cards,” “A Very Murray Christmas”), and NBC (“The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon,” “The Voice”) also landed two nominations. 

Read the list of TV nominees in the major categories below:

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic
Television, Drama:

Better Call Saul

Producers: Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Melissa Bernstein,
Mark Johnson, Stewart A. Lyons, Thomas Schnauz, Gennifer Hutchison, Nina Jack,
Diane Mercer, Bob Odenkirk

Game of Thrones
Producers: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Bernadette Caulfield,
Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss, Bryan Cogman, Lisa McAtackney, Chris Newman,
Greg Spence

Producers: Alex Gansa, Alexander Cary, Lesli Linka Glatter,
Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Meredith Stiehm, Patrick Harbinson, Michael
Klick, Claire Danes, Lauren White

House of Cards
Producers: Beau Willimon, Dana Brunetti, John David Coles,
Josh Donen, David Fincher, Eric Roth, Kevin Spacey, Robert Zotnowski, Karen

Mad Men
Producers: Matthew Weiner, Scott Hornbacher, Janet Leahy,
Semi Chellas, Erin Levy, Jon Hamm, Blake McCormick, Tom Smuts

 The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic
Television, Comedy:

Inside Amy Schumer
Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for
producer eligibility and a full list of nominees will be included in our next

Modern Family
Producers: Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Paul Corrigan,
Abraham Higginbotham, Jeff Morton, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Danny Zuker,
Vali Chandrasekaran, Megan Ganz, Elaine Ko, Kenny Schwartz, Chuck Tatham, Rick
Wiener, Chris Smirnoff, Sally Young

Silicon Valley
Producers: Mike Judge, Alec Berg, Jim Kleverweis, Clay
Tarver, Dan O’Keefe, Michael Rotenberg, Tom Lassally

Producers: Jill Soloway, Andrea Sperling, Victor Hsu, Nisha
Ganatra, Rick Rosenthal, Bridget Bedard

Producers: Armando Iannucci, Chris Addison, Simon Blackwell,
Christopher Godsick, Stephanie Laing, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Frank Rich, Tony
Roche, Kevin Cecil, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David
Quantick, Andy Riley, Will Smith, Bill Hill

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction

30 for 30
Producers: Connor Schell, John Dahl, Bill Simmons, Erin
Leyden, Andrew Billman, Marquis Daisy, Libby Geist

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown
Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia
Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

The Jinx: The
Life and Deaths of Robert Durst

Producers: Marc Smerling, Andrew Jarecki, Jason Blum

Shark Tank
Producers: Mark Burnett, Clay Newbill, Yun Lingner, Max
Swedlow, Jim Roush, Brandon Wallace, Becky Blitz, Laura Roush, Shaun Polakow,
Phil Gurin

Producers: BJ Levin, Bill Maher, Eddy Moretti, Shane Smith,
Jonah Kaplan, Tim Clancy, Ben Anderson, Shawn Killebrew

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition

The Amazing Race
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan
Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo

Dancing with the Stars
Producers: Rob Wade, Ashley Edens-Shaffer, Joe Sungkur

Project Runway
Producers: Jonathan Murray, Sara Rea, Desiree Gruber, Jane
Cha, Heidi Klum, Tim Gunn, Teri Weideman

Top Chef

Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for
producer eligibility, full list of nominees TBD.

The Voice
Producers: Audrey Morrissey, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Marc
Jansen, Lee Metzger, Chad Hines, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment
& Talk Television:

The Colbert Report
Producers: Stephen T. Colbert, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart,
Meredith Bennett, Barry Julien, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Paul
Dinello, Matt Lappin

Key & Peele

Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for
producer eligibility; full list of nominees TBD.

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton

Real Time with Bill Maher
Producers: Bill Maher, Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Marc
Gurvitz, Billy Martin, Dean E. Johnsen, Matt Wood

The Tonight
Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

Producers: Lorne Michaels, Jamie Granet Bederman, Katie
Hockmeyer, Jim Juvonen, Brian McDonald, Josh Lieb, Gavin Purcell

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of
Long-Form Television:

Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for producer

Horror Story: Hotel
Producers: Brad Falchuk, Ryan Murphy, Brad Buecker, Tim
Minear,  Jennifer Salt,  James Wong, Alexis Martin Woodall,
Robert M. Williams Jr.

Producers: Noah Hawley, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen,
Warren Littlefield, Kim Todd


Producers: Nic Pizzolatto, Scott Stephens, Steve Golin, Aida

A Very Murray

This show is in the process of being vetted for producer

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox