Back to IndieWire

Highlights and Winners at the 2015 IDA Documentary Awards

Highlights and Winners at the 2015 IDA Documentary Awards

The 2015 IDA Documentary Awards took place at the Paramount Theater hosted by comedian Tig Notaro. Notaro was quick to point out this was the first year of
the awards being “broadcasted…” on Periscope, and for that reason alone maybe the last.

The Best Feature Award was given to Joshua Oppenheimer’s “The Look of Silence,” which made the Oscar shortlist earlier in the week and happens to be the
film companion for “The Act of Killing.” “The Look of Silence” has been banned in Indonesia and screenings of the film are only available through NGOs,
schools/universities, religious organizations and other limited outlets.

READ MORE: 12 Things Joshua Oppenheimer Wants You to Know About ‘The Look of Silence

The winner for Best Short Award went to the animated short “Last Day of Freedom” directed by Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman. The directors thanked the
IDA for giving the award to an animated film.

READ MORE: Oscar Shortlisted Doc Short ‘Last Day of Freedom’ is a Gentle Animated Look at Complex Issues

IDA’s Career Achievement Award was presented to Gordon Quinn, Founder and Artistic Director of Kartemquin Films. The award was presented by Chaz Ebert,
whose husband Roger Ebert was the subject of Quinn’s film “Life Itself” and by Haskell Wexler, influential cinematographer, producer, and director.

Academy Award® winning director Kathryn Bigelow presented the Courage Under Fire Award to Director Matthew Heineman for his immersive and brave work in the
pursuit of truth in “Cartel Land.” Bigelow executive produced Heineman’s “Cartel Land.”

READ MORE: Matthew Heineman on Going Beyond the Headlines and Body Count in ‘Cartel Land’

Ted Sarandos, the Chief Content Officer at Netflix, was awarded with The Pioneer Award, in recognition to the company’s game-changing and support to the
production of non-fiction programming. The Pioneer Award is presented by the IDA to acknowledge extraordinary contributions to advancing the nonfiction
form and providing exceptional vision and leadership to the documentary community.

READ MORE: ‘Best of Enemies’ Co-Director Morgan Neville on Intellectual Divas and the Theatricality of Politics

Actor, director and political activist Danny Glover presented Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation ( with the IDA’s Amicus Award in recognition of their work supporting the essential
needs of the non-fiction media landscape.

Full List of 2015 IDA Documentary  Awards Honorees & Winners:

Career Achievement Award

Gordon Quinn

Pioneer Award

Ted Sarandos

Amicus Award

Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award sponsored by the Archibald Family Foundation

Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe

Courage Under Fire Award

Matthew Heineman

Best Feature Award

“The Look of Silence”

Director: Joshua Oppenheimer

Producer: Signe Byrge Sørensen

Drafthouse Films and Participant Media

Best Short Award

“Last Day of Freedom”

Directors: Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman

Pare Lorentz Award

“How to Change the World”

Director: Jerry Rothwell

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography

“The Russian Woodpecker”

Cinematography by: Artem Ryzhykov

Best Editing

“Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck”

Edited by: Joe Beshenkovsky and Brett Morgen

Best Writing

“Listen to Me Marlon”

Written by: Stevan Riley

Co-Writer: Peter Ettedgui

Best Music

Best of Enemies

Original Score by: Jonathan Kirkscey

ABC News VideoSource Award

“Best of Enemies”

Directors: Robert Gordon and Morgan Neville

Magnolia Pictures

Best Curated Series Award

“Independent Lens”

Executive Producers: Sally Jo Fifer and Lois Vossen



Executive Producers: Simon Kilmurry and Chris White


Best Limited Series Award

“The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst”

Executive Producer: Jason Blum

Co-Executive Producer: Zac Stuart-Pontier

Produced by: Andrew Jarecki and Marc Smerling


Best Episodic Series Award

“Chef’s Table”

Executive Producers: David Gelb and Andrew Fried


Best Short Form Series Award

“Do Not Track”

Executive Producer: Hugues Sweeney

National Film Board of Canada, Upian, Arte, and BR

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

“The Archipelago”

Director: Benjamin Huguet

The National Film and Television School

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox