Back to IndieWire

‘The Big Short’ & ‘Inside Out’ Take Top Prizes At 2016 PGA Awards

'The Big Short' & 'Inside Out' Take Top Prizes At 2016 PGA Awards

While the Producers Guild Awards aren’t always a perfect crystal ball for how the Oscars will shake out, they are a very good poll how industry types feel about the contenders, and this year an unlikely movie has movie knocked out much more buzzworthy titles to take home the top prize.

In a strong field with movies like “Mad Max: Fury Road,” “Spotlight,” and “The Revenant,” Adam McKay‘s financial world dramedy, “The Big Short,” won the Best Picture prize at the PGAs. Frankly, that’s huge, and it certainly suggests that on Oscar night, we won’t see a sweep from any single movie.

READ MORE: PGA Best Picture Nominees Include ‘Mad Max’ And ‘Sicario’ But No ‘The Force Awakens’ Or ‘Hateful Eight’

Elsewhere, the beloved “Inside Out” took the Animated Movie prize, and in the TV realm, the love was spread among “Fargo,” “Game Of Thrones,” and “Transparent.” Check out the full list of winners below. 

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Ø  The Big Short
Producers: Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner 

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Ø  Inside Out
Producer: Jonas Rivera


The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures: 

Ø  Amy
Producer: James Gay-Rees

The television winners are:

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and mini-series. 

Ø  Fargo (Season 2)
Producers: Noah Hawley, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Warren Littlefield, Kim Todd

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

Ø  Game of Thrones (Season 5)
Producers: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss, Bryan Cogman, Lisa McAtackney, Chris Newman, Greg Spence

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

Ø  Transparent (Season 1)
Producers: Jill Soloway, Andrea Sperling, Victor Hsu, Nisha Ganatra, Rick Rosenthal, Bridget Bedard

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television: 

Ø  The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst (Season 1)
Producers: Marc Smerling, Andrew Jarecki, Jason Blum

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

Ø  The Voice (Seasons 7 and 8)
Producers: Audrey Morrissey, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Marc Jansen, Lee Metzger, Chad Hines, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker, Carson Daly

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

Ø  Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 2)
Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

Ø  Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program: 

Ø  Sesame Street

The digital winner is:

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:

Ø  Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox