Back to IndieWire

Anne-Marie Johnson Named a 2016 SAG-AFTRA Ralph Morgan Award Recipient (Highest Honor)

Anne-Marie Johnson Named a 2016 SAG-AFTRA Ralph Morgan Award Recipient (Highest Honor)

SAG-AFTRA has named performers Anne-Marie Johnson and Morgan Fairchild as the recipients of the 2016 Ralph Morgan Award, the SAG-AFTRA Los Angeles Local’s highest honor.

Established in 1981 and named in honor of the first president of Screen Actors Guild, the Ralph Morgan Award salutes SAG-AFTRA members and/or union staff for their devotion to serving members. 

The award will be presented on Sunday, March 6, at the annual Los Angeles Local membership meeting at the Sportsmen’s Lodge in Studio City.

“I am delighted with the Honors and Tributes Committee’s recognition of both Anne-Marie Johnson and Morgan Fairchild as recipients of the 2016 Ralph Morgan Award,” said SAG-AFTRA Secretary-Treasurer and L.A. Local President Jane Austin. “Both of these accomplished women embody the award’s spirit of self-sacrifice through their countless hours of committee and board service for both SAG and AFTRA. Additionally, these women have made significant contributions outside the boardroom for the betterment of all performers and have worked tirelessly on numerous social issues.”

Presenting the award will be SAG-AFTRA National and L.A. Local Board member Jenny O’Hara, who serves as the Honors and Tributes Committee Chair.

“We are delighted to honor these two remarkable women who have given unstintingly to their fellow members through years of service on SAG-AFTRA’s National and Local boards and numerous union committees, and through their efforts within the larger community,” said O’Hara.

Anne-Marie Johnson was active for more than 15 years as a Screen Actors Guild National Board member and officer. For four years, she served as a senior advisor to the president and has completed four terms as a first vice president. Johnson also served as an AFTRA National Board member from 2009 to 2012. As a former national chair of the Ethnic Employment Opportunity Committee and a member of SAG’s Affirmative Action/Diversity Task Force, Johnson helped create and implement programs for the union and the industry at large in the area of affirmative action and diversity. Co-created by SAG’s Affirmative Action/Diversity department in association with USC Associate Professor Darnell Hunt and Johnson, The African American Television Report detailed studies concerning African American performers on primetime network television. Johnson has also been active in television and theatrical contracts negotiations while serving on the TV/Theatrical W&W and Negotiations Committee.

A Los Angeles native and UCLA graduate, Johnson continues to have a very busy career on television, film, production and serving her community.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox