Back to IndieWire

EXCLUSIVE: Oscar Contenders from ‘The Big Short’ to ‘Spotlight’ Highlight Santa Barbara’s Screenwriters Panel

EXCLUSIVE: Oscar Contenders from 'The Big Short' to 'Spotlight' Highlight Santa Barbara's Screenwriters Panel

Representing eight of the 10 films nominated for Original and Adapted Screenplay at this year’s Oscars, there’s a very good chance that at least one of the nine screenwriters on the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s 2016 “It Starts with the Script” panel will be on stage at the Kodak Theatre later this month. 

Moderated by TOH!’s Anne Thompson, the panel features Pete Docter (“Inside Out“), Emma Donoghue (“Room“), Alex Garland (“Ex Machina“), Drew Goddard (“The Martian“), Jonathan Herman (“Straight Outta Compton“), Charlie Kaufman (“Anomalisa“), Phyllis Nagy (“Carol“), Charles Randolph (“The Big Short“), and Josh Singer (“Spotlight“). 

Read our coverage of the panelists’ films at the links above, and check out the full schedule of SBIFF Tributes below. This year’s festival runs from February 3-13. 

READ MORE: “Santa Barbara International Film Festival Slate Features U.S. Premiere of Malick’s ‘Knight of Cups,’ Much More”

Thursday, February 4 
Scott Cooper will present Johnny Depp
with the esteemed Maltin Modern Master Award sponsored by UGG, moderated by longtime friend and
film historian Leonard Maltin.

Friday, February 5 
Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo and Rachel
McAdams will receive the American Riviera Award sponsored by Engel &

Saturday, February 6 
The 2016 Virtuosos Award sponsored by Travel + Leisure will be presented
to Elizabeth Banks (LOVE & MERCY), Joel Edgerton (BLACK MASS), Paul Dano
(LOVE & MERCY, YOUTH), Jacob Tremblay (ROOM), Alicia Vikander (THE DANISH
GIRL, EX MACHINA), O’Shea Jackson Jr. (STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON) and Géza Röhrig
(SON OF SAUL) in recognition of the year’s emerging film artists.  The evening will be moderated by Dave
Karger, Chief Correspondent and host of “The Frontrunners” on

Monday, February 8 
Brie Larson and Saoirse Ronan will
receive the Outstanding Performers of the Year Award, moderated by Pete

Tuesday, February 9 
Sylvester Stallone will receive The
Montecito Award sponsored by Hennessy.

Wednesday, February 10
The Variety Artisans Awards will be
moderated by Variety’s Sr. VP Awards Editor, Tim Gray. Honorees to be

Thursday, February 11
The Outstanding Director of the Year
Award sponsored by The Hollywood Reporter will be presented to Lenny
Abrahamson, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Tom McCarthy, Adam McKay and George Miller
and will be moderated by THR’s Scott Feinberg.

Saturday, February 12 
Rooney Mara will receive the Cinema Vanguard Award.    

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox