Back to IndieWire

Coen Brothers to Award Janus Films and Criterion Collection at San Francisco Film Festival (EXCLUSIVE)

Coen Brothers to Award Janus Films and Criterion Collection at San Francisco Film Festival (EXCLUSIVE)

The Coen brothers, who recently participated in a Berlin Film Festival tribute to their old friend Ben Barenholtz, who helped them start their long careers, will show on April 30 at the Castro Theatre a recent restoration of their first feature “Blood Simple” (1984) at the 59th San Francisco International Film Festival (April 21-May 5). They will celebrate sibling international art-house cinema pioneers Janus Films and the Criterion Collection with an onstage conversation with partners Peter Becker and Jonathan Turell of Janus Films and the Criterion Collection. 

Every self-respecting cinephile knows the Janus and Criterion logos. Founded in 1956 as a theatrical distribution company that brought the best of international art-house cinema to American audiences, Janus has presented seminal works by Antonioni, Eisenstein, Bergman, Fellini, Kurosawa, Truffaut and Ozu. Janus’s sister company the Criterion Collection also stands for outstanding quality and curatorial expertise. Since 1984, Criterion has issued a continuing series of important films in editions boasting both high technical quality and award-winning accompanying supplements. They pioneered the letterboxing standard and the craft of audio commentary. To date, more than 150 filmmakers have contributed to Criterion’s significant library archive of director-approved DVDs, Blu-ray discs and laserdiscs. 

READ MORE: The Dramatic Story Behind Satyajit Ray’s 50s Masterpiece ‘The Apu Trilogy’ 

The SFIFF award, named for pioneering San Francisco art and repertory film exhibitor Mel Novikoff (1922-1987), “acknowledges an individual or institution whose work has enhanced the filmgoing public’s knowledge and appreciation of world cinema.” The Coens’ dark Texas comedy “Blood Simple,” which features Frances McDormand, has a special tie to the late Novikoff, who championed the film on release and screened it to enthusiastic audiences in his San Francisco cinemas. The Coens named a character in their recent film “Inside Llewyn Davis” (2013), the colorful owner of Davis’s small record label, after him.

“By insisting on the highest quality for both theatrical and home exhibition, Janus Films and the Criterion Collection have gone beyond honoring great films and filmmakers-they’re doing more than any other contemporary company to make cinephilia sexy again,” said Rachel Rosen, San Francisco Film Society’s director of programming. “Their painstaking restoration of ‘Blood Simple,’ a film that Mel Novikoff also championed, is a great illustration of how deserving they are of this award.”

Previous recipients of the Mel Novikoff Award: Lenny Borger (2015), David Thomson (2014), Peter von Bagh (2013), Pierre Rissient (2012), Serge Bromberg (2011), Roger Ebert (2010), Bruce Goldstein (2009), Jim Hoberman (2008), Kevin Brownlow (2007), Anita Monga (2005), Paolo Cherchi Usai (2004), Manny Farber (2003), David Francis (2002), Cahiers du Cinéma (2001), San Francisco Cinematheque (2001), Donald Krim (2000), David Shepard (2000), Enno Patalas (1999), Adrienne Mancia (1998), Judy Stone (1997), Film Arts Foundation (1997), David Robinson (1996), Institut Lumière (1995), Naum Kleiman (1994), Andrew Sarris (1993), Jonas Mekas (1992), Pauline Kael (1991), Donald Richie (1990), USSR Filmmakers Association (1989) and Dan Talbot (1988).
The Mel Novikoff Award Committee members are Francis J. Rigney (chairman), Rachel Rosen (ex officio), Helena R. Foster, Maurice Kanbar, Philip Kaufman, Tom Luddy, Gary Meyer, Anita Monga, Janis Plotkin and Peter Scarlet.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox