Back to IndieWire

Miami International Film Festival Awards ‘Dheepan’ Its Highest Honor

Miami International Film Festival Awards 'Dheepan' Its Highest Honor

After picking up the Palme d’Or at last May’s Cannes Film Festival, Jacques Audiard’s “Dheepan” has again added to its festival haul, winning the Knight Competition Grand Jury Prize at last week’s Miami International Film Festival. The festival also recognized other fest favorites like Yorgos Lanthimos’ “The Lobster” (Grand Jury Award Best Director) and Zhao Tao’s “Mountains May Depart” (Grand Jury Award Best Performance). Other winners included “Queen of Thursdays” and “Paulina.” 

Of his win, Audiard commented via a virtual acceptance statement, “There are two things I love in life: wearing a smoking (tuxedo) and drinking a dry, fresh martini. When I can do both at the same time, needless to say I am thrilled! Tonight, unfortunately I am not in my royal blue tuxedo with you, but I’ll make myself a dry, dry, fresh martini and I drink to your health!”

READ MORE: ‘Eye in the Sky’ Director Gavin Hood Talks About the Mistakes of ‘X-Men Origins: Wolverine’

Check out the full list of winners below.

Knight Competition, presented by The John S. & James L. Knight Foundation
Jury members Kyle Patrick Alvarez, Selton Mello and Trey Edward Shults selected the winners.

Knight Grand Jury Prize: “Dheepan” (France), produced by Pascal Caucheteux and Jacques Audiard
Grand Jury Award Best Performance: Zhao Tao in “Mountains May Depart” (China)
Grand Jury Award Best Director: Yorgos Lanthimos for “The Lobster”(Ireland/Greece)

Knight Documentary Achievement Award, presented by The John S. & James L. Knight Foundation
The Award winner was selected by the Festival audience.

“Queen of Thursdays” (USA), produced by Jorge Alvarez, Orlando Rojas and Dennis Scholl
Lexus Ibero-American Feature Film Competition
Jury members Carlos Lechuga, Leticia Tonos Paniagua and Kenny Riches selected the winning film.

“Paulina (La patota)” (Argentina), directed by Santiago Mitre

Jordan Alexander Ressler Screenwriting Award
Jury members Rosa Bosch, Jorge Guerricaechevarria and Diego Lerman selected the winner. This special award recognizes and supports first-time produced screenwriters. Screenwriters from all feature films in the Festival that have a first-produced feature screenwriter credited, compete for a jury-selected cash prize of $5,000, courtesy of the family of the late Jordan Alexander Ressler.

Lorenzo Vigas for “From Afar” (Venezuela/Mexico)

Earlier in the week, four other major Festival awards were presented:

Shorts Competition
The latest in films 30 minutes or less from around the globe, the jury-selected winner received a $2,500 cash prize.

“The Man of My Life” (France) directed by Melanie Delloye

Miami Encuentrospresented by Knight Foundation
The winning project in post-production received the Achievement Award, which includes a $10,000 cash prize.

The Candidate” (Uruguay), produced by Micaela Sole and Daniel Hendler

Miami Film 2016, presented by The Related Group
Three prizes were awarded to Argentine films in development.

Diego Lerman for “A Sort of Family”
Gonzalo Tobal for “Dolores”
Camilla Toker for “The Death of Marga Maier”

Jury members Carla Forte, Giancarlo Loffredo and Alouishous San Gomma selected the winner in the Miami student film competition.

“I Want To Beat Up Clark Peters” by Joseph Picozzi (University of Miami’s School of Communications)

READ MORE: Why Monica Bellucci Thinks Hollywood is Finally Coming Around on Great Female Roles

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox