Back to IndieWire

2016 Lucille Lortel Awards Nominations Announced

2016 Lucille Lortel Awards Nominations Announced

The nominations for the 2016 Lucille Lortel Awards have been announced. The awards honor the best in New York off-Broadway theater. 

Women are nominated in every category excluding lighting and sound design. Most notable is the Outstanding Director category, where four of five nominees are women: Rachel Chavkin (“The Royale”), Anne Kauffman (“Marjorie Prime”), Amy Morton (“Guards at the Taj”) and Liesl Tommy (“Eclipsed”). Tommy’s “Eclipsed” stars Lupita Nyong’o and recently moved to Broadway. The play is in good contention to receive a Tony Award nomination as well. 

In the category of Outstanding Play, two of the five nominees are written by women — “Eclipsed” by Danai Gurira and “John” written by Annie Baker (the latter of which has five nominations total). Women were involved with the music of three of the five nominees for Outstanding Musical. “Southern Comfort” with music written by Julianne Wick Davis is nominated alongside “Iowa,” written by Jenny Schwartz, who also co-wrote the lyrics. “The Wildness: Sky-Pony’s Rock Fairy Tale” featuring text co-written by Lauren Worsham rounds out the pack of nominees. 

With six nominations, “Humans” is the most-nominated play. Actresses Jayne Houdyshell and Lauren Klein are both up for awards, the former nominated for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play and the latter nominated for Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play.

Acclaimed playwright Suzan-Lori Parks will be inducted into the Playwright’s Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre. Parks is the first African-American woman to be awarded a Pulitzer Prize in Drama, which she won for “Topdog/Underdog.” The production was also nominated for a Tony Award. Parks is currently working on a television series for Amazon.

This year’s Lucille Lortel Awards take place May 1 in NYC.

The complete list of women nominees for the 2016 Lucille Lortel Awards is below. The list has been adapted from Variety

Outstanding Play

“Eclipsed” – Written by Danai Gurira

“John” – Written by Annie Baker

Outstanding Musical

“Iowa” – Written by Jenny Schwartz, Music by Todd Almond, Lyrics by Todd Almond and Jenny Schwartz

“Southern Comfort” – Book and Lyrics by Dan Collins, Music by Julianne Wick Davis; Based on the Film by Kate Davis

“The Wildness: Sky-Pony’s Rock Fairy Tale” – Text by Kyle Jarrow & Lauren Worsham, Songs by Kyle Jarrow

Outstanding Revival

“Cloud Nine” – Written by Caryl Churchill

“Women Without Men” – Written by Hazel Ellis

Outstanding Solo Show

“Forever” – Created and Performed by Dael Orlandersmith

“Grounded” – Written by George Brant; Performed by Anne Hathaway

Outstanding Director

Rachel Chavkin, “The Royale”

Anne Kauffman, “Marjorie Prime”

Amy Morton, “Guards at the Taj”

Liesl Tommy, “Eclipsed”

Outstanding Choreographer

Alexandra Beller, “Bedlam’s Sense & Sensibility”

Martha Clarke, “Angel Reapers”

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play

Ito Aghayere, “Familiar”

Georgia Engel, “John”

Jayne Houdyshell, “The Humans”

Chinasa Ogbuagu, “Sojourners”

Phylicia Rashad, “Head of Passes”

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Sophia Anne Caruso, “Lazarus”

Alison Fraser, “First Daughter Suite”

Annette O’Toole, “Southern Comfort”

Mary Testa, “First Daughter Suite”

Sammy Tunis, “Futurity”

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Alana Arenas, “Head of Passes”

Lauren Klein, “The Humans”

Jeanine Serralles, “Gloria”

Lois Smith, “John”

Myra Lucretia Taylor, “Familiar” 

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Eisa Davis, “Preludes”

Karen Kandel, “Futurity”

Leslie Kritzer, “Gigantic”

Leslie Kritzer, “The Robber Bridegroom”

Annie McNamara, “Iowa” 

Outstanding Scenic Design

Mimi Lien, “John”

Emily Orling and Matt Saunders, “Futurity”

Outstanding Costume Design

Martha Hally, “Women Without Men”

Toni-Leslie James, “First Daughter Suite”

Anita Yavich, “The Legend of Georgia McBride”

Donna Zakowska, “Angel Reapers”

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience (Special Award)

“Angel Reapers” by Martha Clarke and Alfred Uhry

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee (Honorary Award)

Suzan-Lori Parks

[via Variety]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,