Back to IndieWire

League of Professional Theatre Women Announces 2016 Awards for ‘Fun Home,’ Micki Grant and More

League of Professional Theatre Women Announces 2016 Awards for 'Fun Home,' Micki Grant and More

The League of Professional Theatre Women, an organization that promotes visibility and works to increase opportunities for women in professional theatre, has announced the winners of its 2016 awards.

Composer, lyricist, bookwriter and performer Micki Grant will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award. A three-time Tony nominee, Grant’s Broadway revue “Don’t Bother Me, I Can’t Cope” was revived by the York Theatre earlier this year.

The Lee Reynolds Award for a female artist whose work dealt with social, cultural or political change will be awarded to bookwriter and lyricist Lisa Kron and composer Jeanine Tesori, the team behind “Fun Home,” the musical based on the graphic memoir by Alison Bechdel. “Fun Home” was awarded the 2015 Tony for Best Musical, and Kron and Tesori became the first all-all female writing team to win a Tony for Best Original Score. 

The Ruth Morley Design Award will go to lighting designer Jane Cox, whose work on Broadway this year was seen in “The Color Purple” and “Noises Off.” Her previous work includes “Picnic,” All the Way” and “Machinal.” 

The LPTW Lucille Lortel Award for “an aspiring female theatre artist with creative promise” will go to Ari Laura Kreith, artistic director of Theatre 167. The New York-based company “creates, cultivates and supports new work by artists of wide-ranging backgrounds, traditions and beliefs.”

The Josephine Abady Award for a female theatre artist who “has created work of cultural diversity,” will go to Lear deBessonet, the director of Public Works, a division of the Public Theater that “blurs the line between professional artists and community members.” 

Playwright Elsa Rael will receive the LPTW Special Award for “her work in helping women artists expand their reach as founder of the Professional Older Women’s Theater and Women In Arts & Media Coalition.”

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on May 2 at the Pershing Square Signature Center in NYC.

[via Broadway World]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , ,