Back to IndieWire

Dortmund|Cologne International Women’s Film Festival Announces Winners

Dortmund|Cologne International Women's Film Festival Announces Winners

The 33rd edition of the International Dortmund | Cologne Women’s Film Festival came to a successful conclusion after six days of films and events. At the awards ceremony on Sunday evening held in Cologne’s Odeon Cinema, four prizes were awarded with prize money totaling €16,000.

The Ecuadorian director Ana Cristina Barragán convinced the international jury with her debut work “Alba” and was in Cologne in person to pick up the €10,000 prize. The jury consisted of screenwriter, director and producer Ana Cruz Navarro (Mexico), director and screenwriter Angelina Maccarone (Germany) and producer and director Marilyn Watelet (Belgium). They explained their decision as follows 

“Ana Cristina Barragán creates the intimate portrait of a girl on the verge of adulthood struggling to balance the yearning to belong against the price she has to pay for it. Thanks to the cinematographic verve and a tenderness of view, no explanatory dialogues are required to get under our skin. From the very first moment of the film, we see the world radically only through the eyes of this serious young girl – wonderfully played by Macarena Arias. Barragán tells a coming-of-age story that goes far beyond itself and thus becomes a strong expression of love.”

Endowed with €1,000 and sponsored by choices, a listings magazine, the Audience Prize 2016 was awarded to film director Leona Goldstein for her documentary film “God is Not Working on Sunday!” (RWA/DE). Eligible for nomination was any film longer than sixty minutes to be shown at the festival.

The winners of the National Competition for Women Directors of Photography had been selected in the run-up to the festival. The award is shared by the directors of photography Katharina Diessner in the documentary category for the film “Arlette. Courage is a Muscle” (dir. Florian Hoffmann) and by Julia Hönemann in the feature film category for “Porn Punk Poetry” (dir. Maurice Hübner). Prizes were worth €2,500 each this year with the feature film award being sponsored by the DFG German Film Insurance Pool. The jury comprised Sophie Maintigneux and Bella Halben, both directors of photography themselves, and Christiane Schmidt, last year’s winner

Festival Director Silke J. Räbiger was more than pleased with the general feedback and the all-round successful collaboration with cooperation partners such as the Cologne Academy of Media Arts, medica mondiale, the Cologne International Film School Cologne, GOLD + CONCRETE and the local cinemas – the Odeon, the Film Forum at the Museum Ludwig, the Filmpalette and the Altes Pfandhaus.

The next festival will be taking place from 4 to 9 April 2017 in Dortmund.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox