Back to IndieWire

Here Are the Participants For the 2016 Locarno Critics Academy

10 young writers from seven different countries will go to Switzerland to hone their craft in early August.

The Locarno Film Festival

IndieWire is pleased to announce the participants for the fifth edition of the Locarno Critics Academy, a workshop for aspiring critics at the Locarno Film Festival.

The initiative, which is produced as a joint initiative with IndieWire, the Film Society of Lincoln Center and the Locarno Film Festival — with support from Film Comment magazine, the Swiss Alliance of Film Journalists, and Penske Media Corporation — will host 10 participants from seven different countries for the duration of the festival in early August.

Combined with a similar workshop hosted by the New York Film Festival in the fall, the Critics Academy has helped foster the careers for over 70 entertainment journalists. This year, participants will engage in daily roundtable discussions with working critics and industry professionals. They will also produce work in a deadline-driven environment, covering film, television and digital media for IndieWire and other outlets.

More than 100 applications were received for this year’s workshop. A call for applications to the New York-based Critics Academy will follow in the coming weeks. Here are the participants for the 2016 Locarno Critics Academy:

Mariama Baldé – Switzerland
Annabel Brady Brown – Australia
Kelley Dong – USA, Korea
Lili Hering – Switzerland
Franziska Meierhofer – Switzerland
Elia Molo – Switzerland
Raquel Morais – Portugal
Ingrid Oliveira – Brazil
Andrew Rogers – USA
Fanta Sylla – France

The Locarno Film Festival runs August 3 – 13.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox