Back to IndieWire

Television Academy Announces Juried Winners For 68th Emmy Awards In Animation Category

The 2016 Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held over two nights on September 10th and 11th. FXX will broadcast the ceremony on September 17th starting at 8pm Eastern.

Adventure Time

“Adventure Time”

Cartoon Network

The Emmy Awards will be held in just a few short weeks, but the first round of winners have already been revealed. Today, The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the juried award winners for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation. Cartoon Network scored big with three winners, two for its long-running, critically acclaimed series “Adventure Time” and one for “Long Live The Royals.” Adult Swim earned its fourth Emmy win with the latest “Robot Chicken” half-hour special, and finally, National Geographic won for the documentary “He Named Me Malala”. See the list of juried winners below.

READ MORE: 2016 Emmy Predictions

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

“Adventure Time”; Episode: “Bad Jubies”; (Cartoon Network; Cartoon Network Studios in association with Bix Pix Entertainment; Jason Kolowski, Production Designer)

“Adventure Time”; Episode: “Stakes Pt. 8: The Dark Cloud”; (Cartoon Network; Cartoon Network Studios; Tom Herpich, Storyboard Artist)

“He Named Me Malala”; (National Geographic Channel; Fox Searchlight Pictures in association with Image Nation Abu Dhabi and Participant Media; Jason Carpenter, Animation Production Designer)

“Long Live The Royals”; Episode: “Punk Show”; (Cartoon Network; Cartoon Network Studios; Chris Tsirgiotis, Background Designer)

“Robot Chicken DC Comics Special III: Magical Friendship”; (Adult Swim; Stoopid Buddy Stoodios; Scott DaRos, Character Animator)

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one, or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence there are no nominees, but rather a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of each deliberation, the jury considers the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?” Only those with unanimous approval win.

READ MORE: Emmys 2016 Nominations: ‘Game of Thrones,’ ‘Mr. Robot,’ ‘The Americans’ Get Major Nods

The 2016 Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held over two nights at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on both Saturday, September 10th and Sunday, September 11th. The juried awards for Animation will be presented on the second night. FXX will broadcast the awards on Saturday, September 17th from 8:00 – 10:30 pm Eastern with an encore from 10:30 PM – 1:00 am.

Meanwhile, the Primetime Emmy Awards will be broadcast on ABC on Sunday, September 18th.

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox