You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Motion Picture Academy Sticks With Status Quo

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs

Cheryl Boone Isaacs

Anne Thompson

While the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has been making radical changes of late, inviting a diverse number of new members to join their ranks, when the Board of Governors elected new officers Tuesday night, they stuck with more of the same.

The Governors, in a vote of confidence, re-elected president Cheryl Boone Isaacs for a fourth term. It’s her 24th year as a governor representing the Public Relations Branch. With AMPAS CEO Dawn Hudson, Boone Isaacs has led the push to speed up change in the membership. The first African-American to serve as Academy president, Boone Isaacs served in top marketing and publicity positions at New Line Cinema and Paramount, respectively.

Other familiar faces filled out the roster of officers elected by the Board:

Jeffrey Kurland, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee)
John Bailey, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee)
Kathleen Kennedy, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee)
Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
Jim Gianopulos, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
David Rubin, Secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee)

Bailey, Gianopulos, Kennedy and Kurland were re-elected to their posts, while Rubin and Utley are serving as officers for the first time.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

READ MORE: Steven Spielberg and Laura Dern Join Motion Picture Academy Board of Governors, Elected Under New Rules.

On Monday, the Academy announced that Oscar nominee Mark Goldblatt (“Terminator 2: Judgment Day”), will join the Board of Governors after winning the runoff for the Editors Branch seat against Maryann Brandon. They had tied in the Board election.

The list of the Academy’s 2016-17 Board of Governors is here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox