Back to IndieWire

Streamy Awards Announce Nominees for Sixth Annual Online Video Awards (Full List)

"Epic Rap Battles of History," "Oscar's Hotel For Fantastical Creatures" and Rooster Teeth Productions lead with four nominations each.

The Streamy Awards

dick clark productions

If the Webby Awards are the Oscars of the Internet, the Streamy Awards might be considered the Golden Globes.

Purportedly honoring “the best in online video and the creators behind it,” but with the bulk of the nominees residing on YouTube, “the best” more likely means “most viewed.”

Now in its sixth year, the Streamys announced three new categories — including awards for Virtual Reality, Live video, and feature length work — highlighting the expanding scope of the awards, as well as online video as a whole.

Two series, “Epic Rap Battles of History” (Maker Studios) and “Oscar’s Hotel For Fantastical Creatures” (New Form Digital) led the pack with four nominations a piece. Rooster Teeth Productions secured four nominations across multiple projects, while Casey Neistat, “Electra Woman & Dyna Girl,” fouseyTUBE, Grace Helbig, “Miss 2059,” and Roman Atwood all secured three nominations each. In the music categories, the comedic rapper Lil’ Dicky nabbed two nominations.

READ MORE: Rooster Teeth’s Burnie Burns on Making ‘Lazer Team’ As a Gateway Drug

The awards show will take place on Oct. 4 in Los Angeles, and is presented by Dick Clark Prods. and Tubefilter. Here is the full list of nominees, with IndieWire’s favorites in bold.

Overall Awards For Channels, Series, or Shows

Virtual Reality and 360° Video (New Category)

Discovery VR
Five Nights at Freddy’s in Real Life (Devin Super Tramp)
MatPat’s Game Lab
National Geographic
Reggie Watts Live in Virtual Reality


Cyanide & Happiness
Emo Dad
Very Animated People

Breakout Creator

Baby Ariel
Dolan Twins
Jacob Sartorius
Liza Koshy
Simply Nailogical


Good Mythical Morning
King Bach
Logan Paul
Miranda Sings
Ryan Higa


All For One
I Ship It
Making Moves
McJuggerNuggets’ Psycho Series
The Skinny

Feature (New Category)

A Trip to Unicorn Island
Bad Night
Lazer Team

First Person

Andrea Russett
Casey Neistat
Grace Helbig
Tyler Oakley


Brooklyn Sound
Disposable Teens
Made in Mosjøen
Muzzled the Musical


Alice in Paris
Joe Sugg
Simon and Martina


Do They Know It?
MatPat’s Game Lab
Scare PewDiePie
The Try Guys

Subject Awards

Action or Sci-Fi

Day 5
Electra Woman & Dyna Girl
The Fourth Door
Miss 2059
The Parallax Theory


Cute Girls Hairstyles
Desi Perkins
Gigi Gorgeous
Kandee Johnson

Documentary or Investigative

The Banker Suicides
Daughters of Paradise
On Killing
Seeker Stories


Amanda Steele
Arden Rose
Aspyn Ovard
Maddi Bragg
Niki and Gabi


Feast of Fiction
How To Cake It
Laura in the Kitchen
Put it in My Mouth
Tiny Kitchen


Critical Role
The Game Theorists
Sky Does Minecraft
Smosh Games

Health and Wellness

Buff Dudes
Furious Pete
Kati Morton
Niomi Smart
Yoga With Adriene

Kids And Family

Daily Bumps
DCTC Toy Channel
Kid President
What’s Up Moms


Connor Franta
Eva Gutowski
GloZell Green
Meg DeAngelis
Rachel Levin

News and Culture

Great Big Story
The Philip DeFranco Show
The Young Turks


Coby Persin
Prank Academy
Roman Atwood

Science or Education

Colin Furze
Crash Course
Laci Green


30 for 30 Shorts
Adventures in Golf
Coach Snoop
Dude Perfect
Red Bull

Performance Awards


Chris Kendall, Oscar’s Hotel for Fantastical Creatures
Dean Dobbs, Jack & Dean of All Trades
Jesse Ridgway, McJuggerNuggets’ Psycho Series
Kian Lawley, The Chosen
Preston Jones, Sing It!


Anna Akana, Miss 2059
Grace Helbig, Electra Woman & Dyna Girl
Hannah Hart, Electra Woman & Dyna Girl
Jenn McAllister, Foursome
Lauren Giraldo, Camp Unplug

READ MORE: Anna Akana: How the Star of ‘Miss 2059’ Is Turning Online Fame Into an Empire (Exclusive Clip)


Casey Neistat and Jesse Wellens, PrankvsPrank (Aladdin Magic Carpet Prank)
Nice Peter, EpicLLOYD, Meghan Tonjes, Mike Betette and Zach Sherwin, Epic Rap Battles of History (Alexander the Great vs Ivan the Terrible)
Roman Atwood and Yousef Erakat, fouseyTUBE (Caught Naked In Shower Prank!!)
Various Creators, Jimmy Kimmel Live (Mean Tweets – Creator Edition)
Various Creators, Paint (YouTube Culture: A Song)


Artist Request – The New Music Video
Dominic “D-trix” Sandoval
Making Moves
Matt Steffanina

Ensemble Cast

Bad Internet
Camp Unplug
Escape the Night
Oscar’s Hotel for Fantastical Creatures

Music Awards

Breakthrough Artist

Hailey Knox
Lil Dicky
Shawn Wasabi
Todrick Hall
Troye Sivan

Cover Song

Alex Aiono, One Dance and Hasta el Almanecer (Drake and Nicky Jam)
Boyce Avenue, Photograph (Ed Sheeran)
Kurt Hugo Schneider, Send My Love (Adele)
Lindsey Stirling, Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen)
Pentatonix, No (Meghan Trainor)

Original Song

Boombox, Laura Marano
Gold, Kiiara
i hate u, i love u, Gnash, featuring Olivia O’Brien
$ave Dat Money, Lil Dicky, featuring Fetty Wap and Rich Homie Quan
Way Down We Go, Kaleo

Craft Awards


Boxed, Pablo Espada
Devin Super Tramp, Devin Graham
Lost in Greece, Brandon Li
MysteryGuitarMan, Joe Penna
The Slow Mo Guys, Gavin Free and Daniel Gruchy

Costume Design

Epic Rap Battles of History, Sulai Lopez
Escape the Night, Olivia Hines
Miss 2059, Jennifer Newman
Oscar’s Hotel for Fantastical Creatures, Gypsy Taylor
The Sorry Girls, Kelsey MacDermaid and Becky Wright


AVbyte, Antonius and Vijay Nazareth
The Fourth Door, Tony Valenzuela
Jack & Dean of All Trades, Jack Howard and Matt Holt
Oscar’s Hotel for Fantastical Creatures, PJ Ligouri
The Parallax Theory, Sawyer Hartman


Casey Neistat, Casey Neistat
Double Digits: The Story of a Neighborhood Movie Star, Justin Johnson
Epic Rap Battles of History, Andrew Sherman
Kids React, Daniel Seibert, Jordan Towles, Alyssa Salter, Cara Bomer, Luke Bruan, Benny Fine and Rafi Fine
RocketJump, Eric Willets, Nathan Koepp and Dominic Rolandelli

Visual and Special Effects

Action Movie Kid, Daniel Hashimoto
Corridor Digital, Sam Gorski and Niko Pueringer
RocketJump, Eli Cuevas and Clinton Jones
SoKrispyMedia, Sam Wickert
Super Power Beat Down, Nikolay Zamkovoy


Bad Internet, Pat Cassels, Ben Joseph, Zac Oyama, Melinda Taub, Mike Trapp and Siobhan Thompson
Epic Rap Battles of History, EpicLLOYD, Nice Peter and Zach Sherwin
Good Mythical Morning, Drew Champion, Edward Coleman, Lizzie Bassett, Kevin Kostelnik, Daniela Hamilton and Chase Hilt
Honest Trailers, Spencer Gilbert, Joe Starr, Dan Murrell and Andy Signore
Pound House, Brent Weinbach and Doug Lussenhop

READ MORE: The Best YouTube Videos Launched in 2016

Social Video Awards

Live (New Category)

Brandon Rowland
Collins Key
Loren Beech
Merrell Twins
Roman Atwood

Snapchat Storyteller

Cameron Dallas (camerondallas)
DJ Khaled (djkhaled305)
Julieanna Goddard (yesjulz)
Pretty Little Liars (pll)
Shaun “Shonduras” McBride (shonduras)


Brandon Calvillo
chloe lmao
King Bach
Lele Pons
Thomas Sanders

Campaign Awards

Brand Campaign

Calvin Klein Jeans Spring 2016, Cameron Dallas (Calvin Klein)
Make My Monday, Shaun “Shonduras” McBride (AT&T)
Now Add A Dancer, Dominic “D-trix” Sandoval (Mountain Dew)
Royal Crush, AwesomenessTV (Royal Caribbean)
Writing With Grace, Grace Helbig (AT&T)

Social Good Campaign

Lilly Singh’s #GirlLove Challenge
Matt Damon Pranks People with Surprise Bourne Spy Mission, Charity Water
#OwnYourVoice: Standing Up for Gender Equality, United Nations Sustainable Development Goals Action Campaign
Prank It FWD
#ProudToBe: Coming Together to Celebrate Identity

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox