Back to IndieWire

Awards Roundup: Shailene Woodley to Receive Environmentalist Award, Ridley Scott Named American Cinematheque Award Recipient and More

Keep up with the glitzy film awards world with our weekly Film Awards Roundup column.

Shailene Woodley

Shailene Woodley


Keep up with the glitzy film awards world with our weekly Film Awards Roundup column.

– The Environmental Media Association (EMA) will honor actress and activist Shailene Woodley with the Female EMA Futures Award at the 26thAnnual EMA Awards on Saturday, October 22 at Warner Bros. studios in Burbank, California.

“As an influencer and activist, [Woodley] has used her celebrity status to motivate and activate her fans and supporters to take action in their own lives,” said Debbie Levin, CEO of EMA. “A strong proponent of climate change and individual responsibility, we couldn’t be more proud to honor and share this young woman’s authentic commitment and ‘boots on the ground’ rallying for social and environmental justice issues.”

READ MORE: Vine Star King Bach To Host The 6th Annual Streamy Awards

– The Film Society of Lincoln Center has announced that James N. Kienitz Wilkins will receive the 2016 Kazuko Trust Award. The trust was established upon the death of Kazuko Oshima, a patron of the Film Society and admirer of experimental film, and the grant is presented in recognition of the excellence and innovation of an artist’s moving-image work.

Wilkins is an artist and filmmaker whose short films, features, and multimedia projects have been shown at international film festivals around the world. Past movies include the experimental documentary feature, “Public Hearing” (2012), and the short “Special Features” (2014), which won the Founder’s Spirit Award at the Ann Arbor Film Festival 2015 and a Grand Prix at the 25 FPS Festival 2015. In 2016, Wilkins was selected as one ofFilmmaker magazine’s 25 New Faces of Independent Film. His latest short film, Indefinite Pitch, will screen on October 8 and 9 as a part of the 54th New York Film Festival.

– The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences honored 17 student winners at the 43rd Student Academy Awards Thursday, held at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The awards were announced by actors Joel Edgerton, Lucy Liu, Daisy Ridley and Parker Sawyers.

“Nocturne in Black,” directed by Columbia University’s Jimmy Keyrouz, won the gold in the narrative category, while “4.1 Miles,” directed by the University of California, Berkeley’s Daphne Matziaraki, won the documentary gold. The schools that took home the most awards were AFI, USC, Berkeley, Columbia. Past Student Academy Award winners Spike Lee, Trey Parker and Robert Zemeckis.

The Student Academy Award winners.

The Student Academy Award winners.

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

– “The Ardennes,” the 2016 foreign language Oscar entry for Belgium, won seven awards at the country’s Ensor Awards. The feature film debut from director Robin Pront, the film centers on a brutal robbery gone wrong. In addition to Best Picture, “The Ardennes” won Best Screenplay (Jeroen Perceval and Pront), Best Actor (Kevin Janssens), Best Supporting Actor (Jan Bijvoet), Best Photography (Robrecht Heyvaert), Best Costumes (Catherine Van Bree) and Best Art Director (Geert Paredis).

– “Sand Storm,” a drama set in southern Israel, has won the 2016 Ophir Award as the best Israeli film. The movie will be Israel’s foreign language race Oscar entry at the Academy Awards. Directed by a female director with support from both Jewish and Arab crew members, “Sand Storm” entered the Ophirs with more nominations than any other film.The movie centers on a women and her struggles living in a patriarchal society.

Ridley Scott will be the 30th recipient of the American Cinematheque Award at the Cinematheque’s annual benefit gala on October 14 at The Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. Matt Damon will present the award after an evening of in-person tributes from host Russell Crowe, Noomi Rapace, Katherine Waterston, Sigourney Weaver and Kristen Wiig.

Prior to the tribute, Bradley Cooper will present the Sid Grauman Award to Sue Kroll, President, Worldwide Marketing and Distribution for Warner Bros. Pictures. “To state it simply, Ridley Scott is one of the greatest directors in the history of the motion picture,” American Cinematheque Chairman Rick Nicita said in a statement that mentioned several of Scott’s films, including “Alien,” “Blade Runner,” “Thelma and Louise,” “Black Hawk Down” and “Gladiator.” “Adding to his luster, his production company Scott Free, formed with his brother Tony, has produced a long string of successful movie and television projects. We are thrilled to honor a true modern master.”

Ridley Scott

Ridley Scott

– The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) has announced that Founder and Chairman of New Regency, Producer Arnon Milchan will receive the Industry Tribute at the 2016 IFP Gotham Awards. Milchan will join previously announced tribute honorees Amy Adams, Ethan Hawke, and Oliver Stone for the ceremony on November 28 in New York City.

“Arnon Milchan exemplifies the passion, drive, and innovative thinking essential to independent film,” Joana Vicente, Executive Director of IFP and the Made in NY Media Center, said in a statement. “We can think of few others who have so consistently supported the best in auteur-driven filmmaking, working with such talent as Oliver Stone, David Fincher, and Alejandro G. Iñárritu.” The Industry Tribute is awarded each year to an individual whose unique vision and contributions have made a significant impact on the motion picture industry.

READ MORE: Toronto: ‘La La Land’ Wins TIFF’s People’s Choice Award; Plus All Other Award Winners Announced

– The Fifth Annual Australians in Film Awards and Benefit Dinner will honor Suicide Squad actor Jai Courtney and acclaimed filmmaker Garth Davis, who will receive the FOXTEL Breakthrough Awards at the gala event on October 19 at NeueHouse Hollywood in Los Angeles.

The FOXTEL Breakthrough Award recognizes and celebrates rising Australian talent in the entertainment industry. Previous FOXTEL Breakthrough Awards honorees include fellow Suicide Squad actress Margot Robbie, Liam Hemsworth, Chris Hemsworth, Elizabeth Debicki, Jacki Weaver, Teresa Palmer, Joel Edgerton, James Wan and Ryan Kwanten.

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Festivals newsletter here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox