Back to IndieWire

Venice Film Festival 2016 Winners: Emma Stone And Tom Ford Earn Major Prizes

Lav Diaz's "The Woman Who Left" takes home the prestigious Golden Lion award.

La La Land

“La La Land”

Summit Entertainment

The 73rd Venice International Film Festival comes to a close this evening with their annual awards ceremony. The festival ran from August 31st through September 10th, with Sam Mendes as the President of the Jury for the main competition. You can watch the winners accept their awards live with the Venice Film Festival live stream. Follow the link to watch the ceremony and check in on the winners list below.

READ MORE: Venice Film Festival Reveals First Slate of 2016 Titles, Including ‘Voyage of Time,’ ‘The Bad Batch,’ ‘Jackie’ and ‘Nocturnal Animals’

This year, VIFF screened many high-profile films, including such anticipated fall features like Damien Chazelle’s musical “La La Land,” Denis Villeneuve’s sci-fi film “Arrival,” and Terrence Malick’s “Voyage of Time.” They also premiered more more mainstream fare outside of competition, like Mel Gibson’s latest “Hacksaw Ridge” and Antoine Fuqua’s “The Magnificent Seven.”

READ MORE: Denis Villeneuve’s ‘Arrival’ and Tom Ford’s ‘Nocturnal Animals’ Are ‘Virtually Assured’ to Premiere at the Venice Film Festival

The festival awards include The Golden Lion, awarded to the best film screened in competition at the festival, Silver Lion, awarded to the best director in the competitive section, and the Grand Jury Prize, considered the second place prize.

Check out the list of winners below.

Official Selection

In Competition

Golden Lion: “The Woman Who Left” by Lav Diaz

Grand Jury Prize: “Nocturnal Animals” by Tom Ford

Silver Lion for Best Director:

  • Amat Escalante for “The Untamed”
  • Andrei Konchalovsky for “Paradiese”

Volpi Cup:

  • Best Actor: Oscar Martínez for “The Distinguished Citizen”
  • Best Actress: Emma Stone for “La La Land”

Best Screenplay Award: Noah Oppenheim for “Jackie”

Special Jury Prize: “The Bad Batch” by Ana Lily Amirpour

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best Young Actor: Paula Beer for “Frantz”

Horizons (Orizzonti)

Best Film: “Release Me” by Federica Di Giacomo

Best Director: “Home” by Fien Troch

Special Jury Prize: “Big Big World” by Reha Erdem

Best Actress: Ruth Díaz for “The Fury of a Patient Man”

Best Actor: Nuno Lopes for “Saint George”

Best Screenplay: “Bitter Money” by Wang Bing

Best Short: “La Voz Perdida” by Marcello Martinessi

Lion of the Future

Luigi De Laurentiis Award for Best Debut Film: “The Last of Us” by Ala Eddine Slim

Venezia Classici Awards

Best Documentary on Cinema: “The Graduation” by Claire Simon

Best Restored Film: “Break Up, the Man with the Balloons” by Marco Ferreri

Special Awards

Golden Lion For Lifetime Achievement: Jean-Paul Belmondo and Jerzy Skolimowski

Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award: Amir Naderi

Persol Tribute To Visionary Talent Award: Liev Schreiber

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox