Back to IndieWire

Awards Roundup: Natalie Portman to Be Honored at Hollywood Film Awards, Lee Daniels to Receive Special Achievement Award and More

Keep up with the glitzy film awards world with our weekly Awards Roundup column.

Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman


Keep up with the glitzy film awards world with our weekly Awards Roundup column.

-Natalie Portman will receive the Hollywood Actress Award for her role as Jacqueline Kennedy in “Jackie” at the annual Hollywood Film Awards. Comedian James Corden will host the event, which is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year and takes place in Beverly Hills on November 6. Also being honored at the awards are actress Janelle Monáe, who will receive the Hollywood Spotlight Award for her breakout role in “Hidden Figures,” and the cast of the film “Gold,” including Academy Award-winning actor Matthew McConaughey, Golden Globe Award-nominated actress Bryce Dallas Howard, Golden Globe Award-nominated actor Edgar Ramirez and Golden Globe Award-winning actress Stacy Keach, all of whom will receive the Hollywood Ensemble Award.

-The African American Film Critics Association will honor Oscar-Nominated producer-director Lee Daniels with the AAFCA Cinema Vanguard award at its Special Achievement Awards ceremony on January 7, 2017 in Marina del Rey, California. Other honorees will include director-producer Anthony Hemingway, who will receive the Horizon Award; animator Floyd Norman, who will receive the  Legacy award, film critic Mike Philips, who will receive the Roger Ebert award; and Fox Animation president Vanessa Morrison, who will receive the Ashley Boone award.

-Writer-director-actor Aziz Ansari and actress and producer Judith Light will receive Made in NY awards at this year’s Gotham Awards ceremony in New York on November 28. The Independent Filmmaker Project will also present the Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment with a special Appreciation Award in recognition of the 50th anniversary of New York City’s Office of Film, Theatre and Broadcasting. Commissioner Julie Menin and Deputy Mayor Alicia Glen will receive the Appreciation Award at the event.

“MOME has played an integral role in the growth and prosperity of the media industry in New York City over the past fifty years,” Joana Vicente, Executive Director of IFP and the Made in NY Media Center, said in a statement. “Their efforts have not only created jobs and bolstered the creative economy, but also created opportunities for the many diverse communities of our city to contribute to the cultural landscape through arts and entertainment.”

-Tribeca Enterprises and Chanel will award filmmaker A.V. Rockwell with a full production grant for her short film “Feathers,” as a part of the Through Her Lens Women’s Filmmaker Program. Pulse Films and Tribeca Studios will also provide production support. Four other writer-directors in the program also received a development grant: Joey Ally for “Displacement Therapy,” Catherine Eaton for “On the Outs,” Ani Simon-Kennedy for “Camp Moonlight,” and Sonejuhi Sinha for “The Quarry.” In total, $100,000 in filmmaker grants were awarded between the five projects.

-Miles Teller will receive with the first annual Stonestreet Granite Award at Stonestreet Studios’ 25th anniversary celebration on November 14 in New York City. John Cameron Mitchell, who directed Teller in his first feature film, “Rabbit Hole,” will present Teller with the award. Given to an actor, director, producer or screenwriter, the award celebrates those who have emerged from Stonestreet’s in-house conservatory and who have gone on to create provocative, meaningful and relevant independent film and television projects, reflecting Stonestreet’s mission and highlighting their dual nature as conservatory and production company.

-The Archivists Round Table of Metropolitan New York has awarded the non-profit IndieCollect with the Outstanding Support of Archives award for preserving American independent films. In 2014, IndieCollect took custody of more than 5,000 motion picture negatives from DuArt and launched a rescue operation. In addition to its cataloguing and archive programs, IndieCollect runs a non-profit film scanning service to revive historic indie films in high-resolution 4K digital format. It is currently restoring the early films of Christine Vachon, Todd Haynes, Barry Ellsworth and more for a series of 10 films that will premiere at the Metrograph on December 9.

-Bloodlist has announced its eight edition of winning scripts from it horror, thriller, dark comedy and sci-fi competition. The 386 submissions were considered by 74 film industry executives. The full list of winners are:

Title “Orb”
Writer: Steve Desmond & Michael Sherman
Genre: Sci-fi Horror

Title: “Man Alive”
Writer: Joe Greenberg
Genre: Sci-Fi, Horror

Title: “Severance” (Pilot)
Writer: Daniel Erickson
Genre: Sci-Fi Mystery/Thriller

Title: “The Watcher”
Writer: Zack Ford
Genre: Horror

Title: “Soul Mates”
Writer: Chris LaMont & Joe Russo
Genre: Horror/Thriller

Title: “I think We’re Alone Now”
Writer: Mike Makowsky
Genre: Sci-Fi Dark Comedy

Title: “The Live Ones”
Writer: Alex Carl
Genre: Horror

Title: Maximum King!”
Writer: Shay Hatten
Genre: Dark Comedy

Title: Summer of ‘84”
Writers: Matt Leslie & Stephen J. Smith
Genre: Thriller, Suspense, Horror, Coming-of-Age

Title: “Safe and Sound”
Writer: Natalie Hanson
Genre: Horror

Bloodlist’s “new blood” winners are:

Project Name: “A Lot of Blood” (Feature)
Writer(s): Justin Louis Di Dandro
Genre(s): Horror, Thriller

Project Name: “An October Wedding” (Feature)
Writer(s) Name: Nate Ruegger
Genre(s): Thriller

Project Name: “Atrophy” (Feature)
Writer(s): Jennifer Helen Coates
Genre(s): Thriller

Project Name: “The Bridge Partner” (Short Film)
Writer(s): Gabriel Olson, based on the short story by Peter S. Beagle
Genre(s): Horror, Thriller

Project Name: “The Bullshit Boys” (Feature)
Writer(s): Nick Shepherd & Toni Shepherd
Genre(s): Horror

Project Name: “Darwin’s Game” (Feature)
Writer(s) Name: Connor McKnight
Genre(s): Horror, Thriller

Project Name: “Fraud is Dead” (Feature)
Writer(s): Rachel Woolley
Genre(s): Horror

Project Name: “Goldie” (Feature)
Writer(s) Name: Brett Martin
Genre(s): Horror, Thriller

Project Name: “Let the Devil Out” (Feature)
Writer(s): Ryan Jackson
Genre(s): Horror, Sci-Fi, Dark Comedy

Project Name: “Skin & Bones” (Pilot)
Writer(s): Paul Portis
Genre(s): Horror, Thriller, Dark Comedy

Project Name: “The Stricken” (Feature)
Writer(s): Rob Pilkington
Genre(s): Horror

Project Name: “24/7 Xpress Cleaning” (Pilot)
Writer(s): Raul de Miguel
Genre(s): Thriller, Dark Comedy

Project Name: “The 49th Day” (Feature)
Writer(s): Craig Peters
Genre(s): Horror

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox