Back to IndieWire

Cinema Eye Honors Announces Year’s Most Unforgettable Documentary Subjects, Including ‘Weiner’ and ‘Kate Plays Christine’

Plus, the Museum of the Moving Image unveils a brand new series highlighting past winners.

weiner documentary


Sundance Selects

Cinema Eye, the organization that recognizes outstanding craft and artistry in nonfiction filmmaking, has announced their annual list of The Unforgettables, designed to highlight “this year’s most notable and significant nonfiction film subjects.” This is Cinema Eye’s tenth anniversary year, and the fourth straight year that they have unveiled their list of Unforgettables, which IndieWire is very happy to exclusively reveal below.

The Unforgettables list aims to celebrate the year’s most exciting collaborations between filmmakers and their subjects, and it’s hard to imagine a list more representative of that ideal than this one. Standouts include director Kirsten Johnson of “Cameraperson,” actress Kate Sheil of “Kate Plays Christine,” subject Sharon Jones of “Miss Sharon Jones!” and both Huma Abedin and Anthony Weiner from the revealing feature “Weiner.” And that’s just the start of a list that’s wonderfully representative of some of this year’s most indelible doc subjects.

READ MORE: Cinema Eye Names Top Documentaries and Directors of the Past Decade

“For the fourth year, we are proud to celebrate the collaborative process of documentary filmmaking by acknowledging the role that subjects play in creating many of the year’s best films,” said Cinema Eye Managing Director Will Lennon of the list. “Particularly this year, we note the extraordinary access granted by the subjects and earned by the filmmakers that led to unforgettable moments in nonfiction cinema.”

"Kate Plays Christine"

“Kate Plays Christine”

In all, 18 individuals from 15 films were selected for the Unforgettables list by Cinema Eye’s nominations committee, which is comprised of some of the world’s top documentary film programmers and curators, as well as the 2016 filmmakers in the running for this year’s awards, nominations for which will be announced November 2 in Brooklyn at the newly-opened Alamo Drafthouse.

The Unforgettables is one of Cinema Eye’s non-competitive Distinctive Honors. Subjects selected to this list will be acknowledged at the Cinema Eye Honors Lunch, held on Tuesday, January 10, 2017 in Manhattan. Check out the full list below.

2016 Cinema Eye Honors — The Unforgettables

Michal Huszcza, “All These Sleepless Nights”
Audrie Pott and Daisy Coleman, “Audrie and Daisy”
Laura Albert, “Author: The JT Leroy Story”
Kirsten Johnson, “Cameraperson”
Aisholpan Nurgaiv, “The Eagle Huntress”
Samuele Pucillo, “Fire at Sea”
Steve Gleason and Michel Varisco, “Gleason”
Ye Haiyan, “Hooligan Sparrow”
Kate Sheil, “Kate Plays Christine”
Owen Suskind, “Life, Animated”
Sharon Jones, “Miss Sharon Jones!”
Peter Dunning, “Peter and the Farm”
Princess Shaw, “Presenting Princess Shaw”
Sonita Alidazeh, “Sonita”
Huma Abedin and Anthony Weiner, “Weiner”

Additionally, the Museum of the Moving Image, which has been home to the Cinema Eye Awards Ceremony since 2011, has also announced a 10-week series highlighting films from the first decade of the Cinema Eye Honors, entitled “Pushing the Envelope: A Decade of Documentary’s Cinema Eye Honors.”

The Eagle Huntress

“The Eagle Huntress”

The series will kick off Friday, November 4, with the first winner of Cinema Eye’s Outstanding Nonfiction Feature award, Jason Kohn’s “Manda Bala” (“Send a Bullet”). The series will continue through November and December with highlights from Cinema Eye’s first decade, including CEH winning films from Laura Poitras, Sarah Polley, Banksy, Joshua Oppenheimer, Asif Kapadia, James Marsh and Bill & Turner Ross.

Click here to here to see the full lineup.

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox