Back to IndieWire

2016 IDA Documentary Awards Nominations Include ‘13th,’ ‘The White Helmets’ and ‘Fire At Sea’

The 32nd edition of the ceremony will be held on Friday, December 9 in Los Angeles.




With awards season gearing up, the nominees and honorees for the 2016 IDA Documentary Awards have been revealed by the International Documentary Association (IDA). The annual ceremony honors both individuals and organizations for outstanding achievements in documentary filmmaking and contributions to the field, as well as recognizes the best documentary films and nonfiction series of the year.

Among the Best Feature nominees are Ava DuVernay’s “13th,” Raoul Peck’s “I Am Not Your Negro” and “O.J.: Made in America” directed by Ezra Edelman. This year the IDA will also honor five outstanding filmmakers and documentary luminaries including Lyn and Norman Lear, Stanley Nelson, Ally Derks and director Nanfu Wang.

READ MORE: Oscars Documentary Race Heats up With 145 Features in Contention

Winners in the Best Feature and Best Short categories are voted on by IDA’s international membership. Outside screening committees of industry professionals around the world determine the winners in the other award categories.

The 32nd edition of the esteemed awards ceremony will be held on Friday, December 9 at the Paramount Studios Backlot in Los Angeles.

READ MORE: British Independent Film Award Nominations: ‘I, Daniel Blake’ Leads with 7

See the complete list of 2016 IDA Documentary Awards nominees and honorees below:

Career Achievement Award
Stanley Nelson

Pioneer Award
Ally Derks

Amicus Award
Norman and Lyn Lear

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award sponsored by the Archibald Family Foundation
Nanfu Wang

Best Feature Award
“Fire at Sea”
“I Am Not Your Negro”
“O.J.: Made in America”

Best Short Award
“The Above”
“Clinica De Migrantes : Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness”
“Red Lake”
“The White Helmets”

Pare Lorentz Award
“Starless Dreams”

ABC News VideoSource Award

“I Am Not Your Negro”
“The Lovers and the Despot”
“Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise”
“Norman Lear: Just Another Version of You”

Best Curated Series Award
“BBC Storyville”
“DR2 Dokumania”
“Independent Lens”
“Pacific Heartbeat”

Best Limited Series Award
“The Circus: Inside the Greatest Political Show on Earth”
“Making a Murderer”
“Streets of Compton”

Best Episodic Series Award
“Chef’s Table”
“The First 48”
“Last Chance U”
“United Shades of America”
“Woman with Gloria Steinem”

Best Short Form Series Award
“30:30 Shorts”
“Children Deported”
“Field of Vision”
“The New York Times Op-Docs”

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

“4.1 Miles”
“The Earth Did Not Speak”
“How History May Come”
“My Life As a Film- How My Father Tried to Capture Happiness”
“Transit Zone”

READ MORE: Oscars 2017: 10 Documentary Shorts Vie for Nominations

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography
“Fire at Sea” – Cinematography by: Gianfranco Rosi

Best Editing
“Cameraperson” – Edited by: Nels Bangerter

Best Writing
“I Am Not Your Negro” – Written by: James Baldwin and Raoul Peck

Best Music
“The Bad Kids” – Original Score by: Jacaszek

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox