Back to IndieWire

Awards Roundup: Jeff Nichols Honored by Austin Film Society, Iwrin Winkler to Receive PGA Achievement Award and More

Keep up with the glitzy awards world with our weekly Awards Roundup column.

“Loving” director Jeff Nichols

Austin Film Society

Keep up with the glitzy awards world with our weekly Awards Roundup column.

– The Austin Film Society has announced three 2017 honorees of the Texas Film Hall of Fame, including “Loving” director Jeff Nichols, documentary filmmaker Hector Galan and actor Tye Sheridan. Galan will be the first ever documentarian to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. The honors will be presented at the 2017 Texas Film Awards on March 9, 2017, at Austin Studios.

READ MORE: Tom Hanks to Receive Icon Award, Stallone Sisters Named Miss Golden Globe and More

“We have watched as the Texas film scene has grown from a small group of creative, underground filmmakers to a bonafide artist hub,” Rebecca Campbell, Austin Film Society CEO said in a statement. “These three honorees couldn’t be more representative of the Texas film scene of today, and why we are so proud of it.”

– Irwin Winkler will be honored with the The Producers Guild of America’s 2017 David O. Selznick Achievement Award, recognizing the celebrated producer’s outstanding body of work in motion pictures. Winkler is the only producer honored with three films on the American Film Institute’s list of the 100 Greatest American Films. The award will be presented to Winkler at the 28th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on January 28, 2017 in Los Angeles.

“Irwin Winkler’s movies have come to define Hollywood storytelling, and the gallery of iconic characters and classic scenes from his work remains a touchstone for all motion picture producers,” PGA awards chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal said in a statement. “It’s an honor to give Irwin this award this season, as he continues to release some of the most vital work of his storied career.”

Patton Oswalt will host the Writers Guild Awards L.A. show for the second year in a row. The event will take place on February 19, 2017 in Los Angeles. Oswalt recently earned a 2016 Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Special for his Netflix one-man comedy special, “Talking for Clapping.”

Patton Oswalt at the 68th Annual Writers Guild Awards show

Patton Oswalt at the 68th Annual Writers Guild Awards show


“Writing is the goodest thing for movies when you watch the movies the writing is what makes the actors go I like writing,” Oswalt said in a statement. Last year, Oswald received a Writers Guild Award nomination for co-writing the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards show, which he also hosted.

– The European Film Academy has announced the first winners who will be honored at this year’s European Film Awards. A special seven-member jury decided on the winners in the categories cinematography, editing, production design, costume design, hair & make-up, composer and sound design.

The winners are cinematographer Camilla Hjelm Knudsen for “Lane of Mine,” production designer Alice Normington “Suffragette,” costume designer Stefanie Bieker for “Land of Mine,” hair and make-up artist Barbara Kreuzer for “Land of Mine,” European composer Ilya Demutsky for “The Student” and sound designer Radosław Ochnio for “11 Minutes.”

READ MORE: Documentary Filmmakers Stand Up to Trump Presidency at DOC NYC Awards Lunch

– Women In Film has announced the recipients of the 31st annual Film Finishing Fund grant program. Over 250 feature-length narrative films, documentaries and shorts were submitted from 22 countries around the world. The fund provides cash grants and in-kind production services to complete films that fit the established criteria of being by, for or about women.

The 2016 Women In Film Finishing Fund winners are:


“Solace” – Directed, written and produced by Tchaiko Omawale

“Band Aid” – Directed, written, and produced by Zoe Lister-Jones

“Miracle” – Directed and written by Egle Vertelyte

“The Darkest Days of Us” – Directed and written by Astrid Rondero


“Amor Puro Y Duro” – Directed and produced by Catherine Gund and Daresha Kyi

“Canary in a Coal Mine” – Directed and produced by Jennifer Brea

“Farida and Gulnaz” – Directed by Clementine Malpas

“Mudflow” – Directed and produced by Cynthia Wade and Sasha Friedlander

“Tribe” – Directed and produced by Jordan Bryon

“When A Girl Is Born” – Directed and produced by Sarita Khurana and Smriti Mundhra

-DOC NYC, which featured 111 feature-length documentaries, 19 of which were world premieres, and 102 short films, has announced its 2016 award winners. The festival’s audience award went to “Death by a Thousand Cuts,” directed by Jake Kheel and Juan Mejia Botero.

“DOC NYC started two days after the election and found audiences grateful to take inspiration from films representing multiple perspectives,” festival artistic director Thom Powers said in a statement. “The eight days of DOC NYC PRO panels enabled documentary professionals to process the opportunities and challenges ahead.” Below are the winners from the festival’s two main competitions.

Viewfinders Competition:

Grand Jury Prize Winner: “The Islands and the Whales” directed by Mike Day

Special Mention: “The Road” directed by Zhang Zanbo

Metropolis Competition:

Grand Jury Prize Winner: “Off the Rails” directed by Adam Irving

Special Mention: “Winter at Westbeth” directed by Rohan Spong

Special Mention: “The Incomparable Rose Hartman” directed by Otis Mass  

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox