Back to IndieWire

Film Festival Roundup: Santa Barbara and Palm Springs Celebrate ‘La La Land,’ Sundance London Announces Dates

Keep up with the always-hopping film festival world with our weekly Film Festival Roundup column.

“La La Land”

Summit Entertainment

Keep up with the always-hopping film festival world with our weekly Film Festival Roundup column. Check out last week’s Roundup right here.

 Honors and Tributes

– The 28th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF) will present the film “La La Land” with the Vanguard Award at its annual Film Awards Gala. The award is presented to the film’s cast and director recognizing its outstanding creative ensemble. Cast members Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone and director/writer Damien Chazelle are expected to attend.

The Film Awards Gala, hosted by Mart Hart, will be held Monday, January 2 at the Palm Springs Convention Center. The Festival runs January 2 – 16.

– The Santa Barbara International Film Festival has today that Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling will be presented with the 2017 Outstanding Performers of the Year award on Friday, February 3, 2017 for their remarkable performances in Damien Chazelle’s “La La Land.” This marks the first time Stone has been honored by the festival and will be a return for Gosling who was the inaugural recipient of the Cinema Vanguard Award in 2008.

The tribute, which will take place at Santa Barbara’s historic Arlington Theatre, will be moderated by SBIFF’s Executive Director Roger Durling. The 32nd annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place February 1 – 11, 2017.

The festival has previously announced that Warren Beatty will be honored with its Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film and will honor Aaron Taylor Johnson, Dev Patel, Janelle Monáe, Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Ruth Negga, Simon Helberg, and Stephen McKinley Henderson, with the Virtuoso Award among additional, yet to be announced, honorees.

"Contemporary Color"

“Contemporary Color”


– The 5th Annual Key West Film Festival ended earlier this week with an awards ceremony at a packed house at the Casa Marina Resort in tropical Key West.  This year’s visiting film critics in the Critics Focus program awarded the inaugural Key West Film Festival Critics’ Prize to “Contemporary Color” by Bill Ross and Turner Ross. “La La Land” by Damien Chazelle won the Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature.

Academy Award-nominated costume designer Mary Zophres was awarded the Golden Key for Excellence in Costume Design, presented by Dr. Deborah Nadoolman Landis, a Costume Design Governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences and Director of the Copley Center for Costume Design at UCLA. The Golden Key for Career Achievement was presented to Burt Reynolds by Festival founder Brooke Christian. Other winners included “Sour Grapes,” “Lamb,” “Retro Couture” and “Strike a Pose.”

Date Announcements

– The Sundance Film Festival: London will return to Picturehouse Central from June 1 – 4, 2017. The festival will feature the international and UK premieres of films from the 2017 edition of the Sundance Film Festival, which takes place January 19 – 29 in Park City, Utah, U.S.A.

The 2017 Sundance Film Festival line-up will be announced soon. The 2017 London program will be announced next Spring.

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox