Back to IndieWire

Metallica Releases Dynamic Music Videos for Each Song on Their New Album ‘Hardwired’ — Watch

The band worked with directors including Jonas Åkerlund on the music videos for the album.


READ MORE: Music Video Direction: Why Musicians Are Hiring Indie Filmmakers

Metallica is going all out with its new album, ‘Hardwired…to Self-Destruct,” out Friday, by releasing music videos for all 13 songs. The first video, for the track “Dream No More,” hit the web at noon on Wednesday. The band then released one more video every two hours. The video for “Dream No More,” directed by Tom Kirk, features live performance shots, computer-generated images and projected videos of the band.

Some of the directors that shot the videos include “Spun” filmmaker Jonas Åkerlund and renowned international fashion photographers Dimitri Scheblanov and Jesper Carlsen. All the videos can be found on Metallica’s YouTube page. Here’s the full list.

“Hard Wired” – Director: Colin Hakes & The Artist

“Atlas Rise – Director: Clark Eddy

“Moth Into Flame” – Director Tom Kirk

“Dream No More” – Director: Tom Kirk

“Confusion” – Director: Claire Marie Vogel

“ManUNkind” – Director: Jonas Åkerlund

“Now That We’re Dead” – Director: Herring & Herring

“Here Comes Revenge” – Director: Jessica Cope

“Am I Savage” – Director: Herring & Herring

“Halo of Fire” – Director: Herring & Herring

“Murder One” – Director: Robert Valley

“Spit Out the Bone” – Director: Phil Mucci

“Lords of Summer” – Director: Brett Murray

Check out the videos for “Hardwired,” “Atlas Rise” and “Now That We’re Dead” below.

“Atlas Rise”

“Now That We’re Dead”

Stay on top of the latest in film and TV breaking news! Sign up for the Email Newsletter here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox