Back to IndieWire

IDA Awards 2016: ‘O.J.: Made in America’ Tops a Netflix-Heavy Winners List

The International Documentary Association also recognized "13th" and "Making a Murderer" as part of their 32nd annual festivities.

"OJ: Made in America"

“OJ: Made in America”


Friday night’s 32nd annual International Documentary Association Awards at the Paramount Theater in Hollywood became another step in certifying a new American classic in ESPN Films’ epic “O.J.: Made in America.”

Ezra Edelman’s nearly eight-hour documentary was named as the IDA’s 2016 Best Feature Award. It’s the latest in a series of accolades for the landmark saga of the life and trial of O.J. Simpson.

On the Best Short side, the top prize went to Netflix’s Syrian first-responders profile “The White Helmets,” from “Virunga” director/producer team Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara.

IDA members voted on these two categories from a list of six nominees each.

In addition to “The White Helmets,” Netflix programming comprised a significant portion of the evening’s winners. “Making a Murderer,” the true-crime investigation of the decade-spanning conviction and imprisonment of Steven Avery, was named Best Limited Series. The Best Episodic Series Award went to “Last Chance U,” the streaming service’s look at the East Mississippi Community College football program.

A trio of shortlisted documentaries received creative recognition awards. Best Cinematography went to Gianfranco Rosi’s immigration tale “Fire at Sea.” Nels Bangerter’s received Best Editing for his work on Kirsten Johnson’s “Cameraperson.” Fittingly, Best Writing went to Raoul Peck’s James Baldwin doc “I Am Not Your Negro.”

Other notable winners include Ava DuVernay’s acclaimed “13th,” which won the ABC News VideoSource Award, and “The Bad Kids,” which picked up Best Music for Jacaszek’s score.

READ MORE: IndieWire’s Movie Podcast: Screen Talk (Episode 127) – How the Documentary Shortlist Changed the Oscar Race

Previously announced honorees included director and producer Stanley Nelson (Career Achievement Award), IDFA founder Ally Derks (Pioneer Award), Lyn and Norman Lear (Amicus Award), and “Hooligan Sparrow” director Nanfu Wang (Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award).

The full list of the evening’s winners is below.

Best Feature Award
“O.J.: Made in America”
Director: Ezra Edelman
Producers: Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell and Caroline Waterlow

Best Short Award
“The White Helmets”
Director: Orlando von Einsiedel
Producer: Joanna Natasegara

Best Curated Series Award
“DR2 Dokumania”
Executive Producer: Mette Hoffmann Meyer

Best Limited Series Award
“Making a Murderer”
Executive Producers: Moira Demos and Laura Ricciardi




Best Episodic Series Award
“Last Chance U”
Executive Producers: Joe LaBracio, Dawn Ostroff, Lucas Smith, James Stern and Greg Whiteley

Best Short Form Series Award
“Field of Vision”
Executive Producers: Charlotte Cook, Laura Poitras and AJ Schnack

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
“4.1 Miles”
Director: Daphne Matziaraki (UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism)

ABC News VideoSource Award
Director: Ava DuVernay

Pare Lorentz Award
“Starless Dreams”
Director: Mehrdad Oskouei

Best Cinematography
“Fire at Sea”
Cinematography by: Gianfranco Rosi

Best Editing
Edited by: Nels Bangerter

Best Writing
“I Am Not Your Negro”
James Baldwin material compiled and edited by Raoul Peck

READ MORE: How a Documentary About Three Gay Palestinians Turned a Profit

Best Music
“The Bad Kids”
Original Score by: Jacaszek

Career Achievement Award
Stanley Nelson

Pioneer Award
Ally Derks

Amicus Award
Lyn and Norman Lear

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award
Nanfu Wang

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox